We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$88
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
129
118
97
64
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
118
97
64
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea tudor building enjoyable stay character ghost alice angela
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic hotel very helpful we came home and rebooked to go back very clean it was more then we expected perfect location cheap car parking we had a great stay and highly recommended to friends and family

Room tip: Room 7 very interesting
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michellepK8173IJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise Ummat, Other at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear michellepK8173IJ

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you have chosen to come and again. It was a great pleasure for all the team to welcome you to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Meanwhile , please stay safe and well.

Kind regards,
Denise Ummat
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a horrible hotel! The rooms are outdated and so is the whole building. In some rooms and the reception there is a horrible smell from the toilet and bed! The toilet doesn’t even flush! When we complained they just sprayed some air freshener yet that still did nothing! The beds are very uncomfortable and very tin. Even the TV remote doesn’t work!!! DON’T EVER COME TO THIS HOTEL!!!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 383vimald
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise Ummat, Other at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest
We can only apologise for your current perception of the hotel and that you did not enjoy your stay.
The hotel is a Grade 1 beamed Tudor property with a rich history and I am sorry that this and our decor did not meet with your expectations . These are in fact quite often the features that our guests prefer over the more modern generic hotel chains. With regard to the room issues, we can only apologise fo the problems you encountered with the toilet and this will be investigated by maintenance.
Kind regards
Denise Ummat
Director .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

The front desk lady was very helpful. Lots of towels and good amount of liquid toiletries. There's a coffee making facilities with lots of teas, coffees, sugar and milk for our hot drinks. There's glasses and spoon. The bed are big and decent with 4 pillows and well washed linens. We sleep well. It's in the heart of Colchester High Street near to mc Donald's and sorroubded by shop and restaurant. We managed to go to cinema which is just a long the corner. Plenty of buses and taxi around. The Hotel is quite antique. They just need to upholstery the chairs and carpet. I think it just our room, may be some rooms the shower work. We couldn't have a decent shower as you cannot lift up the connection between shower and tap. It seems the room hasn't use for long time. It was next to the room of Alice whose hunting the place since 16 hundred. They said it's hunted by three ghost but we haven't noticed anything. In the restaurant is the screen we're the photo of Alice the ghost appeared and dissapeared. The hotel is better than holiday inn that we stayed due to my husband having early operation in Colchester hospital. We truely enjoyed the kindness of front desk and staff. Hopefully they fix the shower and recarpeted the floor for next time at room 11 quiet room.

Room tip: Parking is walking distance. Plenty of public transport and taxi around
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wildt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise Ummat, Other at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Dear wildt2016

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us at The Brook Red Lion Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you found your room comfortable and that all the team looked after you so well. We are sorry that our resident ghost Alice did not appear on this occasion, may be next time !
Meanwhile , we wish you and your husband all the very best as we move more fully out of lockdown.

Kind regards
Denise Ummat
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021

Big, Big Thank you to Angela. Wonderful place. So pieceful, lovely soft atmosphere, wonderful high street view as requested.. Breakfast was spot on, the wine was particularly yummy hehe. Loved it and will come back again. I highly recommend Brook Red Lion..

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank F9331UUtoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise Ummat, Other at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Dear F9331UUtoms

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your break away with us whilst visiting Colchester.
It was pleasure for Angela and all her team to welcome you to the Brook Red Lion Hotel and we thank you once again for your kind words and rating.
Please continue to stay safe and well over the coming months and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Denise Ummat
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

First of all I want to say a very big thankyou to Angela who originally booked our stay and to the lady who checked us in....lovely people indeed, so polite and nice :) xxx.
Our stay was beautiful, we adore old buildings and history and to stay in a old Tudor building (Hotel) was fantastic. Cosy room, lovely bed....and lovely breakfast in the morning. When we checked out , Angela had the time to tell us about all the history etc which was fantastic:). Angela keep doing what you're doing, it shows so much you love the building and proud to work there and love its history. I cannot say anymore, beautiful town with nice shops to go around in the day and in the evening we found some nice restaurants/ takeaways a walk down the road whilst the restaurant was closed as wedding on. Angela, keep Alice happy and we will be back.....thank you so much again for a lovely stay in a gorgeous building....you all keeping it lovely.

And to anyone who is coming out with horrible comments and saying the building is disgusting....go toapremiere inn etc where insure you'll moan about something there as well.

Love Clark and Lois x

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Supermanlookalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise Ummat, Other at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear Clark and Lois

Thank you so much for your wonderful review today. We are delighted to read that you fell in love with the rich history of our beautiful Grade 1 Tudor building and our ghosts too !
It was a great pleasure for Angela and all the team to welcome you to the Brook Red Lion Hotel and we thank you for your kind understanding on Saturday as the restaurant was closed for a wedding. This is has certainly been challenging year for everyone and we thank you for having the confidence to come and stay. Please continue to stay safe and well and of course let us know if you have any plans to return.
Kind regards,
Denise Ummat,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews