We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,714 results
Traveller rating
1,076
337
151
99
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,076
337
151
99
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room oak panelled afternoon tea york bar garden restaurant lobster dessert trolley dress code roast beef christmas decorations special occasion scones four poster main restaurant old coaching inn sea bass a real treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,714 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

A great stay on a hot day. Had mice dinner in the main dining room and they were able to accommodate our request to move outdoors for pudding (if booking, ask for dinner outside in the garden)

Staff were very friendly.

No lift to our room which was fine but had to duck a in a few place to get to room.

They are well staffed and provide a fine service.

Room tip: Ask for outside dining when booking They will brink coffee to room before breakfast. We canceled as we were up and out early
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oversized
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Reseigh, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Many thanks for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021

We booked a table for 5 ladies for afternoon tea Tuesday 20th July. We went for the £38 option with a glass of Taittinger champagne. You are given 4 finger sandwiches each, very ordinary, a selection of what I would call tarts (not cake) and a bright green macaroon which turned your tongue and teeth GREEN and 2 very small scones. the fruit scones were dry and inedible. We arrived at 4.00 o'clock and by 6 we still had all the crockery on the table with approximately 6 tea pots as they did not clear the cold ones way when bought us more tea. We attract the waiters attention for more tea and drinks even tho the staff were not busy. I had to approach the waiter to clear the table which they did but still left dirty plates behind. The over all experience was so very disappointing. It was a special occasion and didn't want to spoil the day anymore so we decided not speak to the staff. I was going to email the George directly but there is not contact email only reservations.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 240beverleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

My goodness! Friends asked me to book a table for Sunday lunch and I’m so glad I did!
We were early so had coffee in the courtyard and then went in to the garden room for a delicious relaxed lunch. The service was impeccable. The food perfectly presented and tasted as good as it looked. It was difficult to choose! I picked the sea bass ( there was a lot of fish on the menu) . I was not disappointed! Around the table the lamb cutlets were chosen and the fishcakes as a main. Again delicious.
Then the dessert menu came out and I plumped for the trifle which was a proper old fashioned Sherry trifle! We also picked the pear sorbet and a chocolate pud ( similar to a brownie) .
The whole experience though not cheap was so worth every penny! A special place as a treat!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 0107ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Reseigh, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you for your superb review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

On Saturday the 17th of July we attended the wedding reception of our son at the George .
From the afternoon meal through to late evening we had a wonderful time. The surroundings were charming , everything was polished and clean , and the food was exceptional ( the lamb was to die for).
The servers were efficient and polite , but what really stood out was the lady in charge of making sure it all ran smoothly, Meghan . She was an absolute star and worked her socks off to make sure there were no hiccups.
When some of the lads got a bit rowdy she knew exactly how to deal with them . Well done that lady ! Ten out of ten , I hope you go far , you deserve to
Thanks to your team ,
Caroline Pearce

Room tip: There is a good sized car park to the rear of the hotel. You need to ask for a wi go code as it is not provided in the room
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cazstilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Reseigh, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

We are delighted you had such a wonderful time celebrating your son's wedding - many thanks for a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021

We stayed at The George for a couple of nights during a brief holiday in the area. The George was the most expensive of our accommodations and it was most evident in their staffing levels. Throughout our holiday we had found hotel staff helpful but at some places we suffered long waits for service or minor mix ups over orders. Here it reminded me of the "good old days" on the QE2 whatever your request there was a member of staff on hand to sort it out competently.

Unlike other hotels in these Covid days our room was serviced but as is often the way with high end hotels no complimentary tea and coffee in the room, sometime you just want to make yourself a no hassle cuppa while running the bath.

The car park is large and the cost of using it inclusive in your room charge. Probably best not to arrive at lunch time as that is when it seems to fill up.

The food was delicious.

A luxurious end to our short break.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_NYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Reseigh, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Many thanks for your great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews