We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
Hotels.com
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Vio.com
US$56
View deal
ExpediaUS$79
Trip.comUS$79
Agoda.comUS$62
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
593
435
215
116
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
593
435
215
116
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north wing leisure facilities afternoon tea night break pool and jacuzzi evening meal bed and breakfast lovely hotel changing rooms main building standard room buffet style bridal suite reception staff relaxing break darlington town centre a lovely stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2022

Quick review. Paid to upgrade to Penthouse for an extra £50. Yes, you’re on third floor however but I don’t think it is worth the money. The slap dash paint work is very noticeable, down to a big green brush stroke on white paint. The cutting in, or lack of, doesn’t make this a luxury stay. There’s plaster and paint which has peeled off on the carpet. The window sills in our room had dead flys on. I’m aware it’s summer yet this attention to detail has been missed. The room I can’t fault. The entry way to it however is just… well I don’t really have words. My husband and I noticed more and more. There’s also paint drips on the carpet outside the door.

The grounds. Well, a walled garden isn’t actually a walled garden at all. We walked around the hotel to an odd looking almost 1980s building which doesn’t quite look in keeping with the Georgian Hotel. The over grown brambles and rubbish lying around made us think “Thank goodness we are in the hotel and not here”. Again, the rubbish could have been collected and parts which have obviously been vandalised repaired. The little gazebos had glasses and left over plates and old cigarettes at tea time. By late evening, after 9pm, the tables were still not cleared. There was empty bottles of beers on the lawns.

The pool and jacuzzis, great can’t fault.

Food. Lovely, had many GF options for myself which was helpful.

All in all.
Whoever is the manager is not obviously doing a full run of the house and grounds multiple times a day. There seemed to be no night manager either or else they would have had the outside grounds cleared. Don’t bother to pay for the Penthouse. Lovely overnight stay but such lack of attention to little detail has had quite a large lasting impression. The fresh smell of paint, yes, it’s a wonderful thing to know it has been renovated and it’s up to date whilst lovely, just showed to myself and husband that this is a slap dash job.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank daniellewN8749XG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 July 2022

We decided to stay here during our visit to the Croft Motor Circuit. The rooms are fine, although the TV's on our floor where operating to a different time zone, made for interesting viewing. The two nights we were there the hotel was hosting "Proms" nights and this made for fascinating entertainment at the pre dinner bar. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and professional and very attentive. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul8HFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 July 2022 via mobile

A pleasant afternoon at Blackwell Grange
One afternoon tea and one Gentleman's tea. The only difference is small pie, sausage roll & a beautiful small slider ,as apposed to finger sandwiches. Lovely building and very polite staff.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 June 2022 via mobile

A great all round experience from the moment we checked in, the staff were friendly and helpful, we booked one of the penthouse rooms which was excellent with a great bathroom and stand alone bath. The room was spacious and immaculate. We had breakfast every morning which was very good and again the staff were excellent. We toured around County Durham and North Yorkshire and the hotel is a great base for both areas, it was a real pleasure returning on an evening. We will most certainly be back.

Room tip: Loads of parking
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ronnieo337
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 June 2022

We had a two night stay at Blackwell Grange and have to say it was spoilt by having 2 single beds pushed together with no topper so was very uncomfortable and the awful hard pillows so for that reason we wouldn't return .

The weather and food made the stay more enjoyable .

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20ursulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews