We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST OF ENGLISH FISH AND CHIPS”
Review of Nick The Fish

Nick The Fish
Ranked #1 of 45 Quick Bites in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: Situated in the heart of Penn Hill, we are fish & chip specialists - the Capel family are well known for serving some of the best fish, chips & seafood in the South. We have the usual favourites of Cod & Haddock, as well as daily specials such as Fresh Skate Wing & Lemon Sole. We have an extensive vegetarian menu, a children's menu plus Gluten free food always available on request. We have a licensed seating area for you to enjoy a glass of wine or beer with your meal & we have an Express lunch menu Tues - Sat. Phone orders, special requests & reservations are always welcome. Our mission is to please you - Eat fish be happy!
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Excellent well cooked fresh food right across the menu.we have tried many dishes & have always been bowled over by the variety & standard set at NICK THE FISH. Friendly staff & Great service along with yummy food.The pre order & collection service is extremely efficient.
I would highly recommend to locals or anyone visiting Dorset to try The Best Fish & Chippy in the county by far.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pauladamsadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food and service.the fresh haddock is out of this world,with chips to match.friendly service.would recommend to locals or anyone visiting the area.
Very busy during peak times.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank geoffo969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We drove out from Southbourne to visit this Fish and Chip shop based on recommendations, and we certainly were not disappointed.
As we were visiting the 'seaside' for a few days, we decided to order take away and then drive down to the beach.
All of the fish is cooked to order, and the wait was well worth it.
Good sized portions, and both the fish and chips were very tasty.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richt112018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickcapel1, Owner at Nick The Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear richt112018 ...thank you so much for your brilliant review we are glad you like what we do and hope to see you soon
best wishes Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Friendly Staff, excellent Service and the best Fish and Chips in Poole. You’ve tried the rest now try the best

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Cockspur1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickcapel1, Owner at Nick The Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Cockspur...thank you so much for your brilliant review we are glad you like what we do and hope to see you soon
best wishes Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We had take away fish and chips and my mum rated them the best she had ever had and she is very hard to please being an 84 year old. Cod very succulent, batter nice and crispy. Chips were superb. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick The Fish also viewed

 

Been to Nick The Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing