We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement!”

The Crown Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #26 of 171 Restaurants in Stevenage
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Nice place, booked a table for 6 last Saturday. Food not bad, disappointed that the 2 portions of garlic pizza bread - was dry & no garlic, pointed out to the waitress and she said he must have forgot! The service was okay, however would expect to be asked wether we wanted sauces/dressings when our main meal was served and not have to get the staffs attention as our meals were getting cold! Definite room for improvement.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eyespie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2021

Went with family for my birthday. Have to day excellent service fabulous food. Francesca was brilliant nothing too much trouble. Definitely recommend. Fabulous time.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank tracey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

Came for lunch... the whole thing was just shy of £100, we had a couple of warm drinks in the scorching sun.... the beer garden itself is amazing but the menu isn’t good at all... no salad option even in this heat!! All our drinks were warm even the pints!! Kids were dying for a cold drink and given warm fruit shoots and told drinks are kept on the side not in the fridge!! The app thing is a good idea but takes far too long for a warm pint costing £5 a pop.... makes me glad I’ve done the garden up so I can sip ice cold beer for nothing... such a shame has the makings of a gold mine just lacks any real quality

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Familycomesfirst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

Very poor service. Had to leave our seats 3 times,once to ask if someone would take our mains order, then again for someone to take our dessert order (which incidentally they had run out of) and then to go and ask for sugar when coffees were presented without. Felt a bit like being in Mc Donalds to be honest. To top it all off, when the bill came they had added 10% service charge on! Wont be rushing back.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deborahsO22CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Awful food....amaterish service. Get a grip this pub has gone downhill!!! Would only go back back here if I happened to be passing and stop for a quick drink

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank anniel652018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Crown Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.