We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
With pianist friend

Excellent outing! Lots for musicians to enjoy! And others. A must when visiting Bergen. Take a... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
prepaule
,
Bergen, Norway
See summer home

Home is interesting but limited size for looking. Guides are brief and not too in depth. Try to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Marina R
,
Round Rock, Texas
Read all 988 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bergen
from US$33.53
More Info
from US$59.63
More Info
from US$83.22
More Info
from US$335.56
More Info
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
620
301
55
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
301
55
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concert hall grieg's music piano recital his life lunchtime concert music lovers peer gynt house tour great composer wonderful music overlooking the lake summer house burial site short concert summer home picture window famous composer
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

I visited to Grieg house and a pianoconcert in the (little) modernconcerthall next to it. You can easily walk to the nearby lake too.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank reistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We chose to go to the lunch time concert and thoroughly enjoyed the spirited playing of Reidun Askeland.The setting , atmosphere and informative guide brought Grieg to life.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank vonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Grieg's house is in such a beautiful location and although the tour of the house is with a guide you are free to explore the gardens on your own. We also wandered through the house on our own for another look after the guided tour. The lunchtime concert was fantastic,the pianist, Reidun Askeland was excellent. if you sit towards the middle of the row you have this amazing view across the lake while the pianist plays, it is very atmospheric and you can really feel how nature inspired Grieg's music. We were also given an insight into each piece before it was played.
The cafe is good with reasonable prices and there is a small shop. Very friendly staff in both.
We booked this through the tourist office in Bergen, the bus picks you up at 11am from outside the the tourist office (near the fish market), it costs 250 NOK each and we thought it was really good value.
Well worth doing if you are in Bergen.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Great place to visit. Not only do you get a chance to visit Edvard Grieg villa outside of Bergen, but at 1PM there is a concert available where selected works are presented by the rotational pianists. We booked it in conjunction with the transport (250NOK/person) which we thought was a good value. It was a great experience - highly recommended!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

A pleasant way to get out of the city, see Grieg's very interesting house, and have a min-concert on the piano. It's a lovely setting and seeing how the water looks from his studio, gives some insight into his artistic process. Not overwhelming, but very nice.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank FromRichmondVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews