We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hike with a nice destination and view”

Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.02*
and up
Segway Night Tour of Bergen
Ranked #1 of 158 things to do in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fløyen is a must do while in Bergen. Fløibanen, the funicular brings you up the hillside, from Bergen city centre to the top of the mountain in 6 minutes. At Mount Fløyen you will find beautiful views of Bergen, the nearby islands, fjords and mountains surrounding Bergen. Fløyen is a great destination for hiking, mountain biking and soft adventures. We are surrounded by hillsides, mountains, forests, nice little lakes and numerous trails. We offer daily guided hikes “Hiking Mount Fløyen" and Mountain bike rental from mid June until mid August. We love children, and the children love Fløyen. Let the kids explore our playground, Fløysletten climbing playground, the Troll forest. Try out canoe paddling at lake Skomakerdiket (mid June - mid August), feel the adrenalin rush in FløyenKids ziplinepark and get at kiss from our lovely goats at Fløyen. Fløistuen shop and cafè have souvenirs, perfect gifts and memories from Bergen and Norway. We offer local food as “Fløyenbollen", the cinnamon-bun and our organic soup “Fløyensuppen". Fløien Folkerestaurant is open daily from May until September.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Went up on foot three times in three days, each day via a different route (not entirely intentionally). I realize that one could walk much further than the restaurant and pavilion at the top of the funicular route but it does give such a sensational view of Bergen that it is reward enough. It takes about 45 min to go from sea level to the restaurant (plus or minus depending on your state of fitness). The route is paved or packed smooth gravel all the way. Well-frequented by locals who walk, jog or push prams up with babies in them - and so many routes to take: you’ll get there eventually. Water, washrooms and a gift shop and food in various forms (street vendor to reasonably fine dining) so don’t worry you’ll get caught short of bathroom facilities or food and water. I’ve never taken the funicular so I have no idea ... other than it gets you to and from a fabulous view.

2  Thank jhsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita19061971, Daglig leder at Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen), responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for sharing you visit to Mount Fløyen!

There are several different routes to reach Mount Fløyen, I am happy to hear you found a few of them. There are routes With and without sign.

We want you to spend time at Mount Fløyen and work hard to be a destination filled with different activities. From May until August we offer activities as mountain bike rental, zipline, canoe and guided walks. Both the Fløibanen Funicular and Fløistuen shop and cafè is open daily all year. (The shop is only closed at Christimas Eve) Do not miss the amazing hiking opportunities at Mount Fløyen, please consider our website for online tickets or maps for different hiking routes.

Best regards Anita Nybø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great view"
in 487 reviews
"funicular ride"
in 170 reviews
"walking trails"
in 100 reviews
"fun ride"
in 76 reviews
"return ticket"
in 66 reviews
"walked down"
in 142 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 172 reviews
"walk up"
in 174 reviews
"sunny day"
in 206 reviews
"viewing platform"
in 63 reviews
"nice restaurant"
in 60 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 87 reviews
"bergen city"
in 92 reviews
"nice walk"
in 81 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 125 reviews
"cable car"
in 140 reviews
"bergen card"
in 98 reviews
Filter

650 - 654 of 10,046 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018

Whilst in Bergan you cant not go up mount floyen to take in the amazing views of the city and surrounding areas, for around £9 you can get the funicular to the top, I advise you get here first thing in the morning though no queuing and no bustling at the top, nice little café and shop at the top to, take in the views of the fjords. One of the lucky people to be in Bergen on an amazingly sunny day, as I've heard it rains here 330 days of the year!!

1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita19061971, Daglig leder at Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen), responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for sharing you visit to Mount Fløyen!

Only 6 minutes from the city you have this amazing view where you get to see Bergen from a special perspective! We want you to spend time at Mount Fløyen and work hard to be a destination filled with different activities. From May until August we offer activities as mountain bike rental, zipline, canoe and guided walks. Both the Fløibanen Funicular and Fløistuen shop and cafè is open daily all year. (The shop is only closed at Christimas Eve) Do not miss the amazing hiking opportunities at Mount Fløyen, please consider our website for online tickets or maps for different hiking routes.

Best regards Anita Nybø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

A major tourist drawcard in Bergen. Gets very busy and long queues can form. It offers spectacular views over the cityonce you get to the top, but if you feel energetic you can walk up as far as you like and still see photographic opportunities as you hike.

1  Thank allanriley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita19061971, Daglig leder at Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen), responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for sharing you visit to Mount Fløyen!

If you want to walk back down to the city center, estimate 45 minutes. It is 3 km. We want you to spend time at Mount Fløyen and work hard to be a destination filled with different activities. From May until August we offer activities as mountain bike rental, zipline, canoe and guided walks. Both the Fløibanen Funicular and Fløistuen shop and cafè is open daily all year. (The shop is only closed at Christimas Eve) Do not miss the amazing hiking opportunities at Mount Fløyen, please consider our website for online tickets or maps for different hiking routes.

Best regards Anita Nybø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We did this shore tour as part of our Fred Olsen cruise on a rainy day. We travelled on the funicular up to Mount Floyen which was exciting and really interesting and very much a big part of the tour. We were not expecting to see much from the top on this rainy day but much to our surprise we could still see the spectacular view from the top and pick out different parts of Bergen. There was a very nice walk around at the top as well as a troll park to walk around if we had more time but we were more taken with the views from the top. Definitely well worth taking this trip whatever the weather.

2  Thank Marieyaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita19061971, Daglig leder at Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen), responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for sharing you visit to Mount Fløyen!

Only 6 minutes from the city you have this amazing view where you get to see Bergen from a special perspective! We want you to spend time at Mount Fløyen and work hard to be a destination filled with different activities. From May until August we offer activities as mountain bike rental, zipline, canoe and guided walks. Both the Fløibanen Funicular and Fløistuen shop and cafè is open daily all year. (The shop is only closed at Christimas Eve) Do not miss the amazing hiking opportunities at Mount Fløyen, please consider our website for online tickets or maps for different hiking routes.

Best regards Anita Nybø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We visited Bergen on board Cunard’s Queen Victoria and had a lovely day visit. We’d heard that the Fløibanen was one of the highlights, but we chose to turn up on the day and travel as we were ready.

Unfortunately there were two other cruise ships in that day, so the queue was quite long. Instead of queuing for an hour, we’d heard that there was a midway station - so feeling adventurous, we walked up to he midway station and took in the spectacular views of Bergen from the mountainside.

We boarded the first Funicular at the midway stop and took a short ride to the summit.

The views are breathtaking, we had a lovely couple of hours atop the mountain, taking lots of photos and even stopped by the cafe/restaurant for lunch.

There was a small queue for the ride back down, which was totally enjoyable - definitely worth the experience.

1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita19061971, Daglig leder at Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen), responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for sharing you visit to Mount Fløyen!

We want you to spend time at Mount Fløyen and work hard to be a destination filled with different activities. From May until August we offer activities as mountain bike rental, zipline, canoe and guided walks. Both the Fløibanen Funicular and Fløistuen shop and cafè is open daily all year. (The shop is only closed at Christimas Eve) Do not miss the amazing hiking opportunities at Mount Fløyen, please consider our website for online tickets or maps for different hiking routes.

Best regards Anita Nybø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen) also viewed

 

Been to Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing