We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,564)
Filter reviews
1,564 results
Traveller rating
1,094
395
48
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,094
395
48
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light supper paleo restaurant guest lounge great hotel floor lounge complimentary dinner sparkling water breakfast buffet eighth floor squeezed orange juice evening supper amazing breakfast hot dish national gallery train station nespresso machine included in the price
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,564 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel in central Oslo. Friendly staff and extensive buffet breakfast and dinner. Food was very good quality and the service was excellent. If you’re planning a trip to Oslo I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dutch Jimmy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig S, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings Dutch Jimmy V,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted you found great enjoyment in our award-winning breakfast, as well as our service minded staff!
I also hope you got to try out our complimentary, light evening meal, which is included for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future, and wish you a very fine day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

great location in the center of the city, close to several attractions and close to shopping area and many restaurants. Rooms are a bit on the small side, but on the par with the European hotels. great staff, very helpful. breakfast at the Paleo is wonderful, may be on the best in the area. they have great dinner menu as well.
constructions on the front street can be noisy - I asked for a quiet room on the backside, and it was quiet, albeit no views at all. black door with large room numbers in white looks like a prison - definitely needs some artistic touch.
Lounge on the 8th floor was comfortable.
I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SiliconGuy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig S, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Greetings SiliconGuy101,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is, as you mention, very conveniently located, close to both public transportation as well as many of the attractions & sights Oslo has to offer.

Our breakfast is the holder of Twinings 2018-award for "Best breakfast in Oslo", and is something we are very proud of, and it delights us that you enjoyed it as well. In the not too distant future we aim to open a wine bar as a part of Paleo as well, so the experience should be even better the next time you are in town.

The construction outside, which is part of a larger city beautificational project, is entering it's last phase now. It will greatly enhance the plaza outside the hotel. As you may have read, we recommend all light sleepers to request a room towards the back, as you did.

We are greatly looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, and wish you a very fine day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

This is a very new, modern hotel in an excellent location, although it is a little difficult to find if you are arriving at night. There is construction on the street, and the hotel sign is not very prominent. We had a superior room and just loved it: excellent bed, complimentary light suppers, and great breakfast. I would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CanadaBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig S, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Greetings CanadaBenji,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review.

We are delighted that you like Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo as much as you did!
Our beds are made by Norwegian producer "Jensen" and engender a lot of compliments from our guests, and we are of course very happy that you are in agreement!

The construction outside is part of a large city street beautificational project which is run by the Municipality of Oslo, and will shortly be entering it's final phase. When finished, it will make the plaza outside the hotel look fantastic.

We hope to see you again in the future (maybe a visit to check out the plaza the coming summer?), and wish you a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We recently spent three nights at the Rosenkrantz. The included breakfast was magnificent, with anything and everything imaginable (including reindeer!). It was the largest spread I've ever seen in a hotel. And that's not all, every night the lounge offered a light dinner, cheese and crackers, and coffee (though the machines were broken two of the three nights we were there). Rooms were good sized, but lacked drawers to unpack a suitcase (with two of us traveling with full sized suitcases, one sat open on the desk, while the other was open on a shelf under a rod with hangers). There was a gym, but we had no time to use it. One issue popped up. On our last night we requested a 03:45 wakeup call so we could be checked out before a 5am taxi was to pick us up for the airport. We stupidly didn't set any of our electronics as a backup alarm, and the call never came. Fortunately our travel companions called the room minutes before the taxi arrived, and we were out of the hotel in five minutes (maybe the advantage of not being able to unpack our suitcases!).

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0llander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig S, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Greetings h0llander,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review of your time with us.

We are excited that you enjoyed our award-winning breakfast as much as you did. Our great breakfast team put a lot of work in it every day, so our guests get the best experience possible. The complimentary, light evening meal is also something we feel that gives a great added value, especially in a city like Oslo, where eating out can be costly.

The fact that you enjoyed the room is great to hear! We will note the feedback regarding the drawers and share it with our interior design team. We do apologize for the lack of wakeup calls, and I will look into that matter personally, to ensure it does not repeat itself. I am very happy to hear that everything went well, in spite of the lack of wakeup from our side, however.

Wishing you a very fine day, and hoping to see you with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

The only reason the hotel didn't score 5 stars was because the rooms overlooking the front were noisy due to a pub across the road. The bedrooms were very nice but the price list for the bar items could have been clearer. The initial impression when walking along the corridor was of a storage unit as the numbers on the bedroom doors were enormous! No excuse for not finding your room! However the breakfast was one of the best I have encountered.

Room tip: If you like a quiet room ask for one at the back.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig S, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Greetings N S S,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are very excited that you enjoyed the time you spent with us as much as you did.
For any light sleepers, we recommend requesting a room towards the back of the hotel, and our excellent Front Desk team will do their utmost to accommodate any request.

Our award-winning breakfast is something that we ar naturally very proud of, and we are delighted that you enjoyed it as well!

We do hope to see you back with us in the near future, and wish you a very fine day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews