We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,578)
Filter reviews
1,578 results
Traveller rating
1,105
397
48
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
397
48
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light supper paleo restaurant guest lounge great hotel floor lounge complimentary supper bluetooth speaker sparkling water breakfast buffet eighth floor squeezed orange juice evening supper amazing breakfast hot dish national gallery train station nespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 1,578 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Just a few minutes walk from Franz Joseph street, and a few more down to the harbour. it's a great location in the heart of the city without the noise factor. Tram is just outside. We arrived by the local train (which is cheaper and gets to the city just 5 minutes later than the airport express). its a 10 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel rooms are just beautiful and the bed was amazing. We had dinner in their Paleo restaurant the first night. it was expensive, very small portions, but delicious. The next night we went up to the complimentary supper and it was very nice. We only stayed 2 nights because we had to check out and return to Australia because my brother passed away. the reception staff were so accommodating to our early departure. Would definately stay again!!!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adelaide69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohra P, Leder  at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Dear adelaide69,

Thank you for your review.

First of all I want to say I am sorry for the loss of your brother, and I am happy to hear how our receptionists accommodated you at your early departure.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed Brasserie Paleo on two occasions and the delight you experienced with them.

Thank you for staying at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz and for the nice review.
We welcome you back for your next trip to Norway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

If you’re arriving at the airport and don’t fancy shelling out for an expensive taxi then this hotel is only around a ten minute walk from the Nationaltheatret train station, which is three stops or half an hour from the airport. The location of the hotel is great, with only a few minutes walk needed to reach most of the main sights and a tram stop right outside should you be travelling further afield. The passing trams right outside the hotel does mean there’s a bit of noise in the bedrooms, even on the high floors, but unless you’re pretty sensitive to such things it shouldn’t cause too much of an interference.

From the outside I wasn’t blown away with the aesthetics of the building, but all negative emotions disappeared once inside. There was no wait needed at reception to check in and the staff were certainly very friendly and, of course, totally fluent in English. The receptionist explained the breakfast procedure and delightfully that the hotel offers a complimentary 4pm check out time on Sundays; such a shame I was unable to take full advantage of this though. The lobby area has plenty of comfortable seating and the artwork on the walls makes it a cosey and welcoming environment.

Two lifts serve the seven floors, both with a useful information notice inside. This is where I spotted the username for the free wifi so worth taking the time to have a glance over! The hotel corridors were a little different to anything I’ve seen before, with the rooms having large black doors and large white numbers on them; it did feel a little like a prison or hostel if I’m honest. However, the hotel redeems itself by offering communal facilities I wouldn’t expect of such an affordable four star chain - shoe shining machine outside the lift as well as ice machine with plenty of cups and boxes available.

I had been allocated a disabled room and can’t be assured whether the size of the room I had was representative of all their standard rooms. I’m sure that the features and facilities provided within are though and these were very impressive. The TV was large with great picture quality. Sky News was the main English channel for me with a lack of any other familiar UK options although the remote control was a little overcomplicated and the motion sensor to navigate options could have done with being calibrated properly! A Bose sound dock was available on the desk for wirelessly streaming music from devices which was a high end touch. Stocked mini bar, digital safe large enough for a laptop, and tea / coffee facilities were all present with some well thought out design features, such as there being no need to faff around with cables for the kettle since it was enclosed in a pop out drawer; nice. Ironing board, plenty of hangers, umbrella and electric sockets at both sides of the bed made it feel like everything had been thought through. Lighting throughout the room was decent, with desk lamp, reading lights each side of the bed and pleasant ‘mood lighting’ around the bed head.

The bathroom continued the positive feel being very modern and clean. A full range of toiletries was provided with a dispensing unit within the shower. Plenty of towels, flannels, robes and slippers were also to hand and everything restocked during housekeeping. The shower had very good heat and power, with both a rainforest head and separate handheld unit available. Wifi throughout the hotel was fast and reliable, with a simple username and password to get connected.

Breakfast was very good with a fantastic range of food available, from hot and cold, meats, fish, pastries etc. The staff were friendly and the serving hours are right up until midday on a Sunday which was great. Tables in the restaurant were large and the atmosphere great. The staff weren’t the most attentive, so obtaining the fresh hot drinks as advertised was hardly a breeze, but overall it was a good experience. The staff in the bar area at night suffered from the same problem unfortunately, with obtaining service taking far too long even on an evening which wasn’t too busy, however at least the rooms were well stocked in the fridge!

Overall this was a great hotel, even more so for the reasonable rates it was charging during October. While I’ll always remember the black bedroom doors as a bad point, the rest of the decor and friendliness of the staff made it totally forgettable, and the features were well on par with five star alternatives. I would highly recommend this hotel and am thoroughly glad I payed it a visit.

Room tip: Rooms across the front of the hotel do suffer from tram noise
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stevebintley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohra P, Leder  at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2015

Dear stevebintley,

First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to write this very informative and detailed view of what we offer at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz.
I am beyond pleased to hear that you had such a successful stay with us - Thank you for sharing your experience.

We have put in a lot of thought to what our room layouts and comfort, so I would like to say thank you for putting that to point.
I am happy to hear that our breakfast was memorable as well.

We especially appreciate you mentioning our staff at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz, and how happy you are with the service they all provide.

We warmly welcome you back to us for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it a lot. Top location, everything within walking distance. Very friendly ladies at the front desk, ready to answer any question. We had a nice, quiet room on the 6th floor: very clean, good bed, brand new TV, great shower. The best part of our stay was however the superb breakfast: absolutely fantastic with everything you can imagine for a great start in the morning, freshly made in the open kitchen. Really delicious! Compliments to the cooking staff!

Date of stay: November 2015
Thank Piet005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohra P, Leder  at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear Piet005,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and for sharing your experience.
I am very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz.

We put great effort in the small differences, and the breakfast is as you mentioned, one of them.
The breakfast is one of our main focuses to give the best start of the day to our guests as we know this is highly required.
The products in our breakfast buffet is local Norwegian products with great quality.

We especially appreciate you mentioning our staff, and how happy you are with the service they all provide.

Welcome back to us any other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Great hotel, efficient & pleasant staff, fairly good location & pretty decent food. Located right next to tram route. The city centre is well within walking distance. The hotel has a silent efficiency about it - everything happens just as it is supposed to happen ! All in all, a great place to stay in, while visiting Oslo.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank psk1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohra P, Leder  at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear psk1972,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us, and for sharing your experience.
I am pleased to hear that you had a successful stay with us.

Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz as your home during your visit in Oslo, and for recommending us.
We warmly welcome you back to us for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We stayed at Thon Rosenkrantz Oslo for 3 nights on two separate occasion. The hotel gave us a very good first impression. They have very friendly and helpful staff and they allowed us to check in even before their normal check in time! We arrived at the hotel at 8am and we did not expect our room to be ready. Our plan was just to drop our luggage and to go back later to check in. It was indeed a pleasant surprise. We requested for a quiet room and the staff remembered and before we ask her, she assured us that the room reserved for us meets our requirements. Needless to say, the complimentary breakfast and evening meals are superb and ingredients used are mostly organic and of high quality. They have nice nespresso coffee machines at the lobby, at the breakfast and dinner rooms and coffee / tea is complimentary throughout the day. There is also an ice maker machine on every floor and a very inviting self service shoe polish machine which my husband can't stop using. The gym on the 2nd floor is clean and well maintained and they even have a complimentary mixed nuts dispenser for those on the go. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening meals on the 8th floor as most of the dishes offered are traditional Norwegian meals and the ambiance is very cozy just like home. All rooms are fully equipped with a Bose sound link Bluetooth speaker and we enjoyed watching movies on our iPad with good sound system. We do note that there is one area that the management of the hotel can consider to improve service level further. If they can allow guests into the breakfast room before the official opening time as some of us have early flight to catch. We do not mind not having the full buffet spread. Another problem we encountered is that on both occasions the SAS airport shuttle does not know the closest stop to drop us and we ended up at different locations and it was quite a distance to walk. After roaming around the area we found out that the SAS bus stop closest to the hotel, is the one with the following sign # Prof Aschehougs plass. (Hope we got it right as we don't speak Norwegian). In short, we definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers visiting Oslo.

Room tip: Room 204 where we stayed is nice and quiet.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvinaooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zohra P, Leder  at Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear Elvinaooi,

First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to write this detailed view of you stay, and of what we offer to you as our guest.
We do put great effort in the small differences, so thank you for mentioned them.

We truly appreciate your loyalty, and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again.

We especially appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. I am glad they made you feel welcome, and I look forward to share your great review with them all.
Thank you again, and welcome back to us for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews