We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$113
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$113
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,484)
Filter reviews
1,496 results
Traveller rating
793
543
118
30
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
793
543
118
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house great location karlsplatz station comfortable bed state opera mini bar walking distance single room hotel bar hop on hop off bus minute walk the heart of the city public transport wien toiletries euros ringstrasse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,496 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2020 via mobile

This is one of my favorite Motel One hotels - inside a beautiful building just a couple of steps from the Opera and the city. Rooms as always small but functional and modern, everything super clean and very new. And also: unbeatable value for money...

Date of stay: October 2020
1  Thank TheRealGelatoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wioletta Szczerba, Geschäftsführer at Motel One Wien-Staatsoper, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Dear Motel One Guest, thank you very much for your nice review. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you very soon again.
Greeting from Vienna,
Your Motel One Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2020

Wie lief es? - Ankunft wie geplant, Zimmer eiskalt. Das liege an der Klimaanlage, also haben wir die abgeschaltet.
Sieben Stunden später war es immer noch eiskalt – die Odyssee beginnt. Die Dame an der Rezeption erläutert, wie man die Klimaanlage korrekt abschaltet, per Skizze, frei nach dem Motto: wenn du nicht mehr weiterweißt, setze den Gast ins Unrecht (natürlich war die Klimaanlage korrekt abgeschaltet). Von der Technik sei keiner da, und alles werde zentral gesteuert; offensichtlich hat das Hotel Probleme mit der Haustechnik. Also Besuch verschiedener Zimmer, die meisten waren ebenso kalt. Die Leiterin der Rezeption wurde angerufen, war aber nicht hilfreich – merke: der Fisch stinkt vom Kopf her. Alles war bereits ausgepackt, uns war ja versichert worden, dass die Temperatur sich erholen würde. Als sich schließlich ein Zimmer fand, mussten wir den Umzug alleine bewältigen – an der Rezeption hatte die Barservicekraft gerade laut verkündet, es sei so gar nichts los. Auf die Idee, mit anzupacken, kam keiner.
Kundiger Tipp: Schöne und freundliche Hotels liegen in der Straße Rennweg Richtung Schwarzenbergplatz, zentral, aber nicht mehr im überfüllten Spot Karlsplatz.
Es ist nicht das erste Mal, dass das Hotel mit unterirdischem Service auffällt. Ein Gast an der Rezeption, offensichtlich Erstkunde, wollte das Zimmer sehen vor der Bezahlung (die muss sofort erfolgen). Dies wurde ihm verwehrt – erst zahlen, dann schauen.

How did it go? - Arrival as planned, room freezing cold. That was because of the air conditioning, so we switched it off.
Seven hours later it was still freezing cold - the odyssey begins. The lady at the reception explains how to switch off the air conditioning correctly, by sketch, based on the motto: if you don't know what to do, you're putting the guest in the wrong (of course the air conditioning was switched off correctly). There is no one from the technical department, and everything is centrally controlled; obviously the hotel has problems with the building services. So visiting different rooms, most of them were just as cold. The reception manager was called, but was not helpful - notice: the fish stinks from the head. Everything was already unpacked, we had been assured that the temperature would recover. When we finally found a room, we had to manage the move on our own - at the reception the bar service staff had just announced loudly that there was nothing going on. The idea of helping out came to nobody.
Tip: Nice and friendly hotels are located in the street Rennweg towards Schwarzenbergplatz, centrally located, but no longer in the crowded spot Karlsplatz.
It is not the first time that the hotel has attracted attention with its underground service. A guest at the reception, obviously a first-time customer, wanted to see the room before paying (which must be done immediately). He was denied this - pay first, then look.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Reisefan_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wioletta Szczerba, Geschäftsführer at Motel One Wien-Staatsoper, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Motel One Gast,

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen.

Auch wenn wir es bedauern, dass Sie keine besseren Erfahrungen sammeln konnten, hilft uns Ihre Beurteilung dazu zu lernen und uns zu verbessern.

Wir arbeiten daran, es unseren Gästen an nichts fehlen zu lassen.

Die Betriebsanlage unseres Hotels arbeitet in zwei saisonalen Zyklen. In der Frühlings- und Sommerzeit ist der Kühlbetrieb aktiv und in der Herbst- und Winterzeit wird der Heizbetrieb aktiviert.

Sobald im Zimmer die eigestellte Temperatur erreicht wurde, schaltet das Gebläse automatisch ab. Wird die eingestellte Temperatur überschritten, startet das Gebläse wieder. Während des Kühlbetriebes ist keine Heizfunktion gegeben. Auch wenn die Temperatur auf 30 Grad gestellt wird, beträgt die wärmste Gebläse-Temperatur höchstens 20 Grad. Wir empfehlen unseren Gästen das Fenster zu öffnen wenn die Temperatur im Zimmer als zu kalt empfunden wird.

Wir haben unser Bestmögliches gegeben und konnten Ihnen alternativ nur noch den Zimmerwechsel anbieten.

Um unseren Gästen einen konstant niedrigen Preis garantieren zu können, müssen wir auf einige Extras wie einen Concierge- und Kofferservice verzichten. Da sich derzeit unser gesamtes Hotel in Kurzarbeit befindet, erschwert uns diese Tatsache zusätzlich einen situationsbedingten Extra-Service anbieten zu können.

Wir möchten Sie darüber informieren, dass es eine Richtlinie bei Motel One ist, die Bezahlung direkt am Anreisetag bei der Ankunft abzuschließen. Sobald dies abgewickelt ist, können unsere Gäste ihren Aufenthalt uneingeschränkt genießen.
Dies ermöglicht einen unkomplizierten Check Out am Abreisetag für den Hotelgast, da dieser nur noch die Zimmerkarte abgeben muss und natürlich auch sein Gepäck einlagern kann.

Wenn Sie uns die Chance geben, Ihr Vertrauen zurückzugewinnen, werden wir uns Bestes geben, Sie auch weiterhin von unserem Service und Konzept zu überzeugen.

Ihr Motel One Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

To start with the hotel looks like in the pictures. It is very clean. Nice design. Staff is friendly and the location is great, right in the center of Vienna. I would book this hotel again if I come back to Vienna.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank claudiasL4656ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Hausdorf, Geschäftsführer at Motel One Wien-Staatsoper, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Dear Claudia,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and would like to thank you for your great feedback and your comments.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Your Motel One Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

Excellent location within walkable distance to the main sights, Naschmarkt, tram and subway. Centrally located between several interesting neighbourhoods. Beautiful minimally furnished room with a view. (Ask for it) Very helpful staff everywhere. I asked for a later check out and being a member of the Motel One club, they offered me 2 hours extra. Downside is the very busy and somewhat messy breakfast area downstairs in the morning, but luckily there are enough breakfast possibilities around. This is the second time I’m staying in a Motel One and I must say I like the concept and the services they are offering.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 993eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Hausdorf, Geschäftsführer at Motel One Wien-Staatsoper, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Dear Motel One Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and would like to thank you for your great feedback and your comments.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Your Motel One Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020 via mobile

Very well centrally located in Vienna, just two minutes walk from the opera house. Karlsplatz station is just around the corner. Walking distance from Stephansplatz. Very nice and cozy little restaurants around the hotel. The room was clean with very comfortable bed. I enjoyed the amazing shower. Very friendly staff.
The hotel itself is impressive with its historic yet modern decor. I would suggest a better variety of coffees at the lounge.
Very nice breakfast.
This is the place to stay if you are visiting the city

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Demetris2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriziaFOM, Leiter Front Office at Motel One Wien-Staatsoper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2020

Dear Motel One guest,
thank you very much for the great review. e are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the hotel and appreciated our service.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Your team Motel One Wien-Staatsoper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews