We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveller rating
482
341
167
52
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
341
167
52
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station five star hotel old town tyrolean style hotel restaurant front desk staff junior suite an excellent hotel underground parking the heart of the city comfortable stay room was large breakfast was excellent golden roof breakfast room innsbruck card austria
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I can't begin to say how much we enjoyed our three week stay in this beautifully decorated and historic 5* hotel. This was a trip to celebrate milestone birthdays and the hotel staff went over and beyond to ensure we had a memorable stay. Upon arrival we were greeted by two of the loveliest young ladies we've ever met in our travels, Charlotte and Evelyn who were very friendly, kind, and brilliant in helping us with sightseeing directions. Stefan took care of our luggage and was a great source of information regarding the history of the hotel. Everything was absolutely divine. Our Tyrolean Style Suite was spacious, beautifully decorated and adorned with floor to ceiling 300 year old Tyrolean wood. The view of the mountains from the openable windows in our room was breathtaking and I found myself waking up and peeking through the windows to see if they were still there on several occasions. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful and consisted of eggs, beans, bacon, sausages, vegetables, cheese, cereals, fruit and a variety of cakes. Hot items were hot and cold items were cold. There is an enormous selection of teas and espresso and cappuccinos are brought to the table. The staff really take pride in their work and they always greeted us with genuine smiles. We had some good conversations and laughs with them. It was lovely that everyone expressed an interest in whether we had a nice day when we returned to the hotel. I really hope they all know how much we will treasure our time there. The hotel is conveniently located across the train station, which made it so easy for us to visit the border countries and bus to go sightseeing. There was no noise from the train station disturbing us at all. It's about a ten minute stroll to the old town which was fine with us as we passed a lot of nice shops as well as the beautiful Leopold Fountain. There are many hotels in the old town and we are so very happy we stayed at the Grand Hotel Europa as bars and cafes are open very late in the old town and the noise would have been far too much for us. The spa in the hotel was wonderful! Dry and wet steam rooms and showers make it great for relaxing. The Baroque Room where Queen Elizabeth II stayed is a must see and we were so grateful Stefan took the time to give us a tour and show us the photo albums of celebrity guests. We couldn't have asked for a better time. Thank you so much to Charlotte, Evelyn, Stefan, Julia, Lukas and everyone else for making this truly the very best and memorable vacation we've had! If you are considering a trip to Innsbruck, this hotel is perfect. I highly recommend purchasing the Innsbruck Card from the front desk. No need to waste money on a private transfer as access from the airport to the hotel is easy via the F bus line for only €3. The airport is easy to navigate and staff will help you find the bus if you ask. Hotel staff were quick to respond to emails and inquiries. We will definitely return and would highly recommend this beautiful hotel. My only regret is that we didn't take a photograph with the lovely staff.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lkycharms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Located adjacent to the railway station and with all public transport passing by, the location of this hotel was perfect. It was an easy walk to all attractions, to shopping and to many restaurants. A modern hotel with great public areas and features including a warm welcoming bar/lounge area and dining room/restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large and modern, the bed comfortable, a room safe was provided and the room air conditioning, tv and wifi worked well. The bathroom was large, modern with a good shower, robes and slippers, good bench space and hair dryer. Towels were rather thin and therefore a little unpleasant. Toiletries provided were good quality and the housekeeping was performed well. Laundry was so expensive as to render it unaffordable and therefore unusable. Breakfast was good with variety and freshness and coffee was served to order at the table.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbelbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelation6020, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jbelbin,

We thank you that you decided to write a positive comment regarding you stay at Grand Hotel Europa*****.

It is a pleasure for us to be able to meet your expectations and needs, as you were able to take advantage of extra services and that you liked the room we assigned.

We remain at your disposal and we wait to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

One can tell almost immediately that the Grand Hotel Europa was once one of Innsbruck's finest. Unfortunately, it has not aged well. Hallways are dark and dingy and decorations are seemingly from the 1950s. The carpeting in the room looks like it dates also from that era.

Front desk staff are friendly and helpful but sometimes understaffed. The location, across from the train station is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Old Town but there are other hotels much closer. Parking, however, is very convenient and attached to the hotel via an underground tunnel.

Odd events occurred during our 2 night stay, such as the hallway lights going off (we needed to use our cell phone flashlights) and the internet coming and going. These are signs of aging infrastructure.

Breakfast is ample and staff are friendly. Coffee was oddly lukewarm.

The hotel safe was impossible to figure out; I've never seen one that required the use of a personal credit card (no charge) as opposed to a key-code. This wasn't explained to us on check-in so we had to call.

Housekeeping was spotty and downright peculiar. Oddly, when we returned to the room all the bars of soap had been taken away, even the opened ones; we had to call the desk for replacements. We had left a key in the slot that keeps the electricity on; when we returned not only was the key out of the slot but it was taken away altogether.

The hotel has other oddities as well. For example, 2 bottles of water are nicely provided on the table in the room. But only 1 of those bottles were free. This room was advertised to come with a welcome drink; none was offered (we didn't want one anyway). The fan from the air conditioning is aimed directly at the bed so one either freezes from the fan or swelters if the fan is turned off.

Overall, this is an OK property that has seen better days. While I would be willing to stay here again, I would be more inclined to look for a newer hotel nearer Old Town.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Smeisel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had a comfortable stay at this hotel. Conveniently located next to the station, the hotel provided an easy access to various sightseeing places. The rooms were quite comfortable and the breakfast was good. They also allowed us storing our baggage as we went to Fussen for a night. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchi260182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelation6020, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ruchi260182,

Thank you for your nice review. It is very important for us to receive your comment.
As you mentioned, at our Hotel there is a lugguage storage for all our guests, so they can so they can still live the city a little before leaving without caring about the suitcases.

If you go back to innsbruck, we'd love to be able to welcome you back.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

This is not a 5 star hotel. The pictures on the site do not reflect how un-cared for the rooms are. The rooms were falling apart, with rotting, laminate wood everywhere and a really musty, weird smell. It is a very old hotel so it is very dark, with wood laminate panelling everywhere and carpeted walls?
The rooms are dark, there are hardly any lights so you literally cannot see in a mirror to do anything. If yo open the curtains to get natural light as the rooms overlook a main road and loads of other building there is not privacy so everyone can see you.
I came out of this hotel less relaxed then I went in, the bed is not comfortable, the shower old, and a weird connecting door in the room that no one told us about.
The staff are not the most welcoming, and the location is poor. It is out of the main town, so you get an awful impression of Innsbruck when you get there which is actually beautiful and worth visiting. There are many hotels in the central old town which are beautiful 3/4 stars and we wished we had stayed there (for the same price)
I WOULD NOT recommend staying here

Room Tip: do not choose one
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tarowberry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelation6020, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Dear Tarowberry4,
We thank you that you decided to share your experience with us. It is important for us to receive your comment in order to improve ourselves.

We are very sorry to understand that your experience was not positive.

Regarding the rooms, we inform you that a renewal program is planned in order to give a better service and to the expectations of our guests. The reception staff is always available to find a solution and if there are problems with a room we try to change it immediately trying to make a free upgrade to a higher superior category.


All our staff is available to listen to the needs and requests of our customers.

We hope to welcome you again so we can personally present our services and give you an excellent assistance during your stay.

We remain at your completely disposal.

Best regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews