We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for drinks ”

Brasserie du Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo
Reserve with
Brasserie du Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 140 Restaurants in Monte-Carlo
Price range: US$17 - US$56
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A famous meeting-place, the Cafe de Paris lights up the Place du Casino. A chic and stylish brasserie where you can enjoy seafood, fun dishes and traditional foods. With its high-tech decor, the recently renovated Bar des Jeux is the place to meet up at the start of trendy evenings. To the tinkling of the jackpots in a gambling ambiance, discover one of the many cocktails on the menu.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Such a perfect spot to come for drinks or lunch/dinner. It’s very busy, so come early to get a good table. If you sit outside you have a good view of the casino, perfect for people watching. Close to good shopping, so can rehydrate after shopping up a storm. The desserts are really nice if you like ice cream and big portions

Thank TashCushla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-CarloSBM, Assistant de Direction at Brasserie du Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your very positive comment. We are happy to learn that your experience among us was a great success, it will be told to the teams as your satisfaction is our priority.
Café de Paris looks forward to welcoming you again and wishes you a good day.
Regards,

La Direction du Café de Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 112 of 4,059 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Only place in Monte Carlo to frisk us on entry in Monte Carlo... little odd I felt.

This place is in the Michelin Guide with the "good cooking" rating... I remain completely mystified why. It was the worst meal I have had in about three years and I left knowing that I had been relieved of more of my cash even faster than if I had visited the casino.

I opened up with a Prawn Cocktail... just 25 euros for that, while the wife had foie gras at 32 euros having spotted that 12 snails cost more at 34 euros (clearly decent import tax on these to Monaco (along with garlic and butter). I expected a wonderful version of an old favourite. What I got was rock hard avocado and about three rubbery prawns presented with the skill of a drunk teenager using a food ring... and my wife's foie gras was cleary delicately levered out of a tin. I followed up with a tasteless steak and my wife had pasta bolognese. Both were appalling with salt & pepper also in short supply.

Both came at the price of a Michelin starred main course in London but were of the quality of a road side service station... charging a fiver.

We were not alone, the table next to us complained about the quality of their food to be told "Oh we have just got a new chef in, he's learning the recipes" ... fair to say I exploded. If this were a pub in the depths of the countryside, I would not only understand but sympathised but our meal cost 70 euros per head and the wonderfully designed restaurant is so large that one sole chef could not handle all the orders, there was clearly a decent brigade at work in the kitchen. It was just that night's excuse which the waiter delivered with the sympathy of an insurance company pointing out the clause absolving them of the need to pay out on your claim.

This place is a disgrace to its heritage, name, location and Michelin rating. It is a place to fleece tourists more efficiently than the casino and I would avoid eating anything there under any circumstances.

What I would recommend however is getting a coffee here next to the square and watching the people go by... it is a wondrous spot for that. You'll still need to be frisked and it'll be very expensive but that will actually be worth it. It's a lovely building on a wonderful square.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GlosRetiredProp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-CarloSBM, Assistant de Direction at Brasserie du Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Guest,
To begin we would like to thank you for your comment but we are sorry to learn that your experience went wrong, mostly the culinary part which will be told to the Chef to make the needed changes and improve our quality. We also would like to apologize for the waiter behaviour who should not have not given such an answer, but call a manager to solve the issues you had.
Concerning the frisk, as we welcome thousand of guests and that the restaurant is located in a historical area, it is a mandatory procedure, as it is at Hotel de Paris or Casino for example.
However we really hope to welcome you again in order to make you change your mind about Café de Paris.
Regards,

La Direction du Café de Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Came here for drinks during the build up to the Monaco Grand Prix. As the main road was blocked for the race track cars were diverted right in front of the restaurant. Although a bottle of beer here is 10 euro the comfort and surroundings make it a special place to car spot. Watching an endless stream of Ferrari’s Bentley’s and Lamborghinis go past was very entertaining. This place is not to be confused with the casino. The main casino is next door. You can watch the rich and famous drop off their cars and toss their keys to the waiting valet parking attendant. We just had drinks but the food looked fab and the service was excellent. Great place to watch the world go by in Monaco, especially the cars!

Thank AndrewM796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-CarloSBM, Assistant de Direction at Brasserie du Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your very positive comment. We are happy to learn that your experience among us was a great success and that you enjoyed the "Monte-Carlo Show" !
Café de Paris looks forward to welcoming you again and wishes you a good day.
Regards,

La Direction du Café de Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to chill. Just opposite the Casino with Luxury cars moving all around the square. You name a car brand and it’s there. Good Cappuccino, awesome beer (Monaco brand), and awesome Pizzas. The luxurious setting, wealthy people all around you, and Bond-ish setting makes it cool.

Thank Amitosh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-CarloSBM, Assistant de Direction at Brasserie du Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Firstly let us thank you for your very positive comment. We are glad to read that you had a good time among us, enjoying drinks and view. We will tell the teams about it as your satisfaction is our priority.
Café de Paris looks forward to welcoming you again and wishes you a good day.
Regards,

La Direction du Café de Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

The cafe is ridiculously expensive. You have to do a bag check before going in. The service is perhaps a bit standoffish. But if you are going to blow some money in Monte Carlo, you might as well do it on a 23-euro cocktail than to lose it in the casino. You might just find yourself hobnobbing with someone famous. (I'm not sure who was sitting next to us, but the staff sure did and he was getting the pampered treatment for it).

It might have been the most expensive diet-Coke ever and truly the 23-euro cocktail was not on the most-expensive list, but if you're in Monte Carlo -- sure, fine, why not?

Thank SyrinxSounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie du Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo also viewed

 
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 

Been to Brasserie du Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing