We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$348
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sammy's Hotel(Kyrenia)(Great Value!)
US$205
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$542
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,509
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dome Hotel(Kyrenia)
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pia Bella(Kyrenia)(Great Value!)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ship Inn(Kyrenia)(Great Value!)
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
366
289
173
80
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
289
173
80
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswave poolpoolside roompool barfamily roomanimation teamrestaurant staffgreat holidaypool areas arefamily holidaypool sidenorthern cyprussea view roommain buildingbreakfast and dinnerreception staffreception areahalf board
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The complex has several swimming pools with plenty of sun loungers, nice pool bar, our pool side room was great had 2 bedrooms with a shower room and patio area, good aircon, breakfast is buffet style and was excellent lots of choices to suit everyone, easy access to the beach , good location with a little train taking you into Kyrenia, would definite stay here again

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are ideal for families
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salih A, General Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear jenny r, Thank you for your review to Oscar Resort Hotel. We understand that you had a nice and comfortable holiday during your stay. We are all looking forward to serve you again soon at your second sweet home. All our bests from Sunny and hot Cyprus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

When you arrive in the lobby you think it's a good looking hotel. They then give you your room which is in a separate block away from the hotel. My hubby says it reminded him of his army days so that was a bad start. We booked a sea view but we couldn't see it from this room. Having paid extra we asked to move. The second room had the sea vies but it was filthy. Bird poo all over the balcony, cupboard doors hanging off. Moved again into a pool view room which was lovely and would book this again or would have till I went to dry my hair and the hai dryer burst in to flames. Had to run up to reception as they were not answering phone. Guy from the pool was about to throw water on it till we stopped him. Hubby found fire hydron but staff didn't know how to work it. All the clothes were ruined due to the powder. Hotel did wash them but they came back in a smaller size. Day 1 9 to go. The breakfast is good but dinner is awful. Don't bother with the salon they don't know how to do nails and ruined mine even though the adervertise it. Be careful if you go to south Cyprus from the north they took all my gifts off me at the boarder. There are no signs telling you. The North is a lot friendlier than the South.

Room Tip: Book a pool view room. There are better hotels for the same price
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salih A, General Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Dear Sue,
Firstly on behalf of the hotel I would like to apologise for the unfortunate incident that occured, thankfully nobody was hurt and the fire was dealt with promptly.
I was not aware that your garments were ruined as this was not reported to us after we returned them from our laundry service, if this was the case we would have rectified the matter before you departed.
With regards to your room allocation, your booking was for a standard hotel sea view room. However due to availability we upgraded you to one of our club studio rooms which is located on the 2nd floor in an ajacent building 50 metres from the main building, this is directly over looking the sea.
You were obviously not content with the view and asked to be moved, we then showed you a standard sea view room which was your original booking.
We then offered you one of our 5 star Poolside rooms which I understand you were satisfied with and remained there until your departure. The cost of this room type is considerable more expensive than the room you booked and paid for, however as a good will gesture we upgraded you without any extra charge.
The hairdressing/beauty salon is run seperately from the hotel and I will be contacting them to discuss the treatment you underwent, once again I was not made aware of this situation until now.
We sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed here for a week with friends. We were allocated a nice suite overlooking the pool at the front and the wave pool at the back. Very clean and comfortable although the 'drain' smell in the bathroom took a bit of getting used to!

We found the reception staff very unsmiling in contrast to the lovely Senol and Kenneth who served us in the dining room. The food on the whole was fine, not happy that there was no proper fruit juice in the mornings, the fresh fruit selection was poor too. The coffee was awful so stuck to Turkish Tea. There was always however a great array of salads at breakfast and dinner which were excellent.

There was filtered water available with the meals which was good, but annoyed at how much was charged for bottled water in the room fridge. It was so hot and we ended up walking to a nearby supermarket to get water to drink.

After dinner it would have been nice to sit outside with a drink but the terrace was so smokey it was horrible, you came away smelling like a smoker.

Other quibbles I had were having to pay to use the room safe, paying extra (which we did) to use the wifi in the room, and finding it wasn't even very reliable. Our room keys failed us twice during our week which meant an longish walk to reception to get them reset.

A week was long enough here for us. The resort is pretty and well kept but a bit far out of town.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the pool are spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salih A, General Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Dear NorthernHeatseeker, Thank you very much for your honest review to Oscar Resort Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a nice and comfortable holiday during your stay. Regarding your mentioned staff names will be awarded by the management according to their attitude. We are all looking forward to serve you again soon on your next visit Kyrenia North Cyprus. Best regards from sunny and hot Cyprus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

reviewed other reviews, and decided to choose this hotel, to celebrate our Birthday.
Arrived very late and was given food, but no offer of help with our luggage, we were given B Block. The room smelt musty, but been so tired, we just wanted to go to bed.
In the morning things started to look slightly better, the room had to good size double beds, furniture could do with an update, Television! would be nice to receive a few more English speaking programs, the only channel was the BBC world News,which seemed to have repeat programs on a loop, walk in shower, was fantastic, and our towels changed every day. No complaint about the food, but a little annoyed, about guest not been able to take food, although, I noted some guest, putting food into their bag, so I wrapped up rolls to take away, because I was full and did not to waste food. My daughter, was not impressed with the Wi Fi, which she paid for a week, which a lot of time did not work, but totally let her down on our final night, even though she complained,no attempt of some good will, was offered for the inconvenience caused. Staff was made aware of our Birthday's, but nothing was presented, or acknowledged,to make our day perfect, very disappointed. On one of the day tour, (Tuesday 4 October 16), the tour guide, noted, and at the end of the tour, presented my daughter, with a cake, and got everyone on the coach to sing Happy Birthday. That made her feel like a million dollar. A Big Thank You to OGEL! The hotel restaurant, as well as the bar area food,and cocktails was great. The entertainment, was ok, enjoyed,the bingo and Karaoke night, but could not spend the evening out side the communal area, due to too many smokers, but felt the hotel, could offer a better entertainment package, i.e., live music in the dinning area etc. The holiday experience for me was OK! Have been to other destination, were the experience was and would always be memorable. Some staff and a lot of the guest, was not very welcoming, The best part of our stay, was the good weather, met a few happy faces. Although, we determined not to the let the negative., spoil our holiday, sorry Oscar, we will not be in a hurry, to rush back. There are a lot of more exciting holiday destination to visit, plus the majority we have visited, we would return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salih A, General Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Larna B,
Thank you very much for your review to Oscar Resort Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice holiday during your stay at Oscar Resort Hotel. Finally our ISP İnternet service provider has been fixed the connection problem with international authorities and WiFi working working well. We are sorry for slow connections. Regarding the birthday we are always care with all guests birthdays celebrations as long as we informed. We are all ling forward to serve you again soon at your second sweet home. All our bests from Sunny and Hot Cyprus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Hotel Oscar is an enigma-it's brilliant but, just when it's going well, it lets you down. The setting beside the sea, overlooking the harbour is one of the best. The lobby is attractive and well-decorated. The pools are very good (including one with wave action) and the hotel has its own beach with a pontoon to rest on. The hotel beside it has a beach (which I used) with a life- guard on it- I think is a sister hotel-and is terrific.
We arrived about 10pm as part of a tour group and the hotel had kindly laid some food on, which was very much appreciated.
The rooms are large, well-furnished with good bathrooms. Ours was a chalet-type with a view over a pool and a little of the sea. The rooms are air-conditioned too-we had one problem with cold air after a momentary power cut and this was fixed reasonably promptly.
The food is good in general and when there is "live" cooking it gives extra variety. I had the best soup ever one night-yoghurt and rice soup. There is a great variety of bread available and the sweet desserts are very good. There is a poor choice of cereal for breakfast and the juices are diluted to the point of almost no taste-this is surprising for a country full of fruits. The choice of fruit available was very poor for breakfast and dinner-no peaches, nectarines, grapes, pears, plums etc-only cut melon and uncut apples and oranges.
The service is hit and miss. We managed to get in the gorgeous outside seating area one evening(overlooking the harbour) and the service and table presentation are better there. But there should be not be a 2-tier system. Elsewhere the waiter presence was not good and running out of cutlery, saucers etc was not unusual. What the dining area needs badly is visible presence of management directing the staff.
Also, the staff need to be trained to smile and greet guests. Apart from the staff at the bar in the lobby, most staff seem to regard guests as a problem. The greeting into the dining area is surly or absent.
On our morning of departure there was a breakfast laid on at 5am, which was appreciated. I booked a wake-up call for 5am but it did not come. I was charged 44TL or about €13 for the mini-bar even though we just used 1 small bottle of water-I didn't have time to argue.
Attention to detail was lacking as regards repairs and decoration. Wifi was free in the lobby area but was down about 20% of the time. Also, there is a big casino downstairs which could be looked on as an asset or a liability
It is good value but it could be a lot better. This hotel could be great but management need to get a grip on managing the expectations of the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RobertoWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salih A, General Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Roberto Waterford, Thank you very much for your review to Oscar Resort Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice and comfortable holiday during your stay. All staff and the management we are looking forward to serve you again soon
All our bests from Sunny and Hot Cyprus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews