We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
129
86
30
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
86
30
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar mr bean building work family run hotel air con quiet road snack menu nothing is too much trouble small hotel three weeks bed and breakfast north cyprus small charge friendly hotel building site week stay plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Sammy's is a small (24 room) hotel with an almost exclusively Brit customer base, many of whom have returned year after year.

Apart from Sammy Jnr/Jnr and his uncle the hotel is essentially by 4 men and a female receptionist, all of whom are very friendly and helpful, plus the kitchen staff. They ( Walter, Boris, Kissam & Osam) are very quickly on first name terms with the guests.

Breakfast is good but a bit limited for British tastes, with lots of cheese, meats and olives, and a limited selection of fruit to go with the cereal, yoghurt and toast. However the eggs are done to perfection, with soft boiled eggs just right.

Dinner dishes are a little too anglicised for our taste, but are tasty and good value, as are the drinks at the bar. The latter also encourages one of the great delights of this hotel - guests actually talk to one another, both around the pool and on the terrace, before and after dinner.

The pool is a very good size for the number of guests, with adequate loungers, although the surrounding tall buildings does mean that the sun disappears rather early. Swim up bar was not in use while we were there, so not sure how it works.

The rooms are just big enough, with small balconies, but toiletries are not refreshed and room cleaning is a bit below par (the only service not quite up to scratch).

Would certainly return on any future visit, as many of the guests we met have done for a number of years.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

the staff and other guests made this holiday for us..many of the guests were many time returners and their advice on eateries etc was invaluable.Turan ran the pool area like a swiss watch and the pool itself was lovely and beautifully clean. There is a LOT of building going on around the hotel so although it didn't bother us, there was noise..also every young driver in Kyrenia has a huge exhaust pipe on their car haha. The beds in the room were the hardest I have ever encountered..the missus had to fold up a blanket and put it below the sheet.We were bed and breakfast and breakfast was perfectly adequate and the service good and friendly.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammysHotel, Front Office Manager at Sammy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with a r comments Our apologies in responding to you, however we thank you for your stay last year and are really pleased! I'm Aliye; new receptionist. I hope you meet you this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Spent 1 week here 22nd-29th October. Had a really wonderful stay. From the moment we arrived we were made so very welcome. The hotel is not the most up to date, a little dated however we were very comfortable, nice bathroom and we had a balcony which was lovely to sit out on.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food was tasty and quite varied. I cannot thank the staff enough, they were the best I have ever come across in any hotel we have ever stayed in (and i’ve stayed in many over the years) Walter, Boris, Osman and Keisher (probably all spelt incorrectly) you were all outstanding. Would recommend this hotel if you want a quiet stay with no stress. Loved it and would definitely go again.

Room tip: Try to get room with balcony
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EssexGirlLizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammysHotel, Front Office Manager at Sammy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hello EssexGirlLizzle:

thank you very much for you 5 stars comment ; and thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review.
We hope you see you soon again. Im Aliye from Sammys Hotel Reception.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Just returned from a fabulous holiday at Sammys Hotel on a bed and breakfast basis.. The hotel is in an excellent location, beautifully clean and the staff are extremely friendly and attentive. Could not have asked for more. See you all next year and thank you for everything.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZKAN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammysHotel, Front Office Manager at Sammy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hello OZKAN001

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with a five star comments Our apologies in responding to you, however we thank you for your stay last year and are really pleased , It's great to hear that you hope to return and we are all waiting to welcome you back again soon! I'm Aliye; new receptionist. I hope you meet you this year.


Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

The staff are this hotel is its best asset. Really friendly staff. The hotel is clean but tired. The lift is out of the ark! But it does work fine. Breakfast is basic plus eggs which is the norm. I have Coeliac so took my own, emailed in advance but got no reply, which was not ok. If you can afford it book the suite. Hotel is walk able to the harbour, but after a few beers get a taxi for a few lira.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 656pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews