We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
102
90
33
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
90
33
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dual carriageway overlooking kyrenia jules verne tour northern cyprus indoor pool moussaka good size fabulous views rooms are basic the main hotel swim up bar rooms overlooking call to prayer star hotel enjoyed my stay the main road soup
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We have just returned from our three week holiday at the wonderful Onar Village in Kyrenia, North Cyprus. We have been staying at this beautiful hotel for many many years and still we find it perfect in the most beautiful location. The hotel is immaculately clean and the views are stunning. Onar Village is not too big so guests and staff get to know each other. We stay in the older building and each bedroom has a wonderful view over the gardens and pool down to the sea. The food is fresh, local, healthy and well produced. Staff are very polite and friendly and cannot do enough to help the guests have a wonderful holiday. The pool is the cleanest I have ever come across and is cleaned every morning. The cost for staying Bed & Breakfast per room is very very reasonable at this beautiful hotel.

The hotel is family owned and managed and improvements are being made at the moment to keep their very high standards up to date.

The town of Kyrenia is only a 5 minute taxi ride away, which is very inexpensive. Famagusta is well worth visiting for a day or even two and Nicosia is a short drive from Kyrenia. The Karpaz region is an unspoilt and very beautiful part of the world and is well worth the drive to see. The hotel is happy to advise places to visit.

If you are looking for a gentle, calm and beautiful location for your holiday then Onar Village is the place. Sitting on the terrace to watch the wonderful sunset with a Brandy Sour in your hand is memorable.

We fly from Northern England to Larnaca and have a 45-50 min transfer through the Border to the hotel, which is completely hassle free and the taxi driver does the necessary document presentation for you which only takes a minute. Transfer costs about £55.00 per vehicle, some car hire firms do the transfer much cheaper when hiring a car through them. It is very easy for English people to travel to this lovely hotel.

The weather in North Cyprus is just beautiful. We stayed from 22 June until 13 July 2016 and enjoyed 38 degrees of beautiful sun, blue cloudless skies and warm sea. The climate is good from April through to the end of October, so it is a long season, although it is a very mild year round climate. Eating out in Kyrenia and the surrounding area is very good and cheap, compared to England. The surrounding area is easy to explore if hiring a car.

We cannot recommend Onar Village enough to anyone who wishes to visit Northern Cyprus for a different, relaxing holiday. Google this beautiful place and get booking!!

Room tip: Old building has best views, New building has good views and best bathrooms.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Carol1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We were after a completely relaxing holiday, and that's what we got. It's not the first time we've stayed at the Onar Village, and it won't be the last. We have never written a review before, but were so pleased with our fortnight at Onar Village, we wanted to to say a 'public' thank you to Mehmet and all the staff for looking after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble; the staff are all very professional, polite and friendly. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and enjoyed the choice of food offered; and also had enjoyable lunches during our stay too. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with fantastic views over the pool and Kyrenia in the distance. The pool and grounds are maintained to the highest standard. The hotel's location is ideal for evening visits to the harbour, and sightseeing across Northern Cyprus. If you're after a completely relaxing, quiet holiday, you won't be disappointed. We'll be back.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool - fantastic views from private balcony
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 09CarolynI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We arrived at the hotel frazzled after a horrible hotel elsewhere and the Onar Village was balm to our spirits. The staff are very polite and professional. The room was clean, large, tastefully decorated with wonderful panoramic views over Kyrenia and the sea. We had the pool to ourselves. Ate in the restaurant in the evening - and sat on the outside terrace. Lovely.

Room tip: Rooms in front of the pool above ground level
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PacificDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We went as a couple 10 days ago as a first-time visitor to The Onar. We have been to Northern Cyprus many times before and we found the holiday village to be excellent. We had a Villa room which was very spacious and comfortable with an excellent view of Kyrenia and the Sea. Our only suggestion to obtain an excellent rating is to give the room some tlc and provide full range of patio furniture on the balcony.

The staff were excellent, very friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed on a half-board basis and found the food to be of excellent quality and a god variety of menus each day. The pool was good and spacious. Loungers and parasols were spaced out so no overcrowding. Our intention was to try it out this year with a view of returning annually. We are definitely coming next year and have a longer stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Some people say my family are boring because we go to the same place every year' That is their opinion, but when you find somewhere as special as Onar Village it's a bit of a gamble to try somewhere else in case one is disappointed.
So what is so special about the Onar? This is a family run hotel- all delightful people who clearly care about the well being of their guests. Their staff are second to none and when we return, we are greeted with hugs, kisses and great warmth- almost as if we were family.
It is probably unfair to single anyone out but Mehmet, the Manager is a most personable,kind, gentle man for whom nothing is too much trouble.
Becoming unwell whilst on holiday is never pleasant, but when Mehmet is informed, he is on the case immediately, recommending Doctors at the excellent private hospital just a short car ride away. The treatment here is excellent and sadly far better than the Uk. You have to pay for treatment but it is as cheap as chips! Manager Mehmet has even gone to the pharmacy himself to get medication for my little granddaughter when she had allergy problems.
The Onar is high above the town of Kyrenia and the view from our bedroom 118 is stunning.The bed in this room is as comfy as our bed at home. The shower in the ensuite is powerful with constant hot water. The whole property is spotlessly clean and the gardens are stunning.
We chose to eat out every night because there are many lovely places to explore either in Kyrenia itself or the surrounding villages. Lunch at The Onar is excellent- try the Chicken Shish kebabs!
Some people moan about the busy road leading to the town, but I can promise there is no road noise to spoil our holiday. The hotel can arrange car hire or taxis, again, as cheap as chips are readily available.The harbour is reputedly one of the most beautiful and The Chimera restaurant there, also owned by the hotel will give you a warm welcome, good food and live music.
Over the years we have made some lovely friends there. We all go back year after year. That speaks volumes doesn't it?This place, for a relaxing holiday away from the pressures of work, is the place to be. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

Room tip: 118 and 117 Great beds!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chere H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews