We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
369
100
19
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
100
19
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the sea the main road nothing is too much trouble northern cyprus haven of peace relaxing holiday sun deck small hotel hard working staff dining terrace mezzanine bedroom rooms are large within easy reach breakfast is served taxis are cheap nice pool a short taxi ride
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

I don’t normally leave reviews, but I must for this hotel.

The hotel area is clean and kept to a high standard, our room was cleaned and our fridge topped up everyday. Pool area was also great. The resort is located in a quite area of Kyrenia which is perfect for us.

We had a wonderful time staff were always attentive and so helpful. We went out a few times for dinner and alway looking at places to visit.

This hotel has its own restaurant which i must is lovely and the food great, however the owner and staff were more then happy to advise of some lovely restaurants in the area also arranging booking and taxi transfers. Also book excursions tailored to your requests.

We are now looking at booking again for next year which I can honestly say we have never done.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Danny10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighLifeCyprus, Owner at High Life Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Danny,

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we truly appreciate your sharing your experience. Thanks for making High Life your choice as well. We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

I have written several reviews of this hotel, and I love it more every time I go there.
The High Life is a small 3 star hotel with only 20 rooms, but for me, the comfort, the ambiance, the friendliness, all mean so much more than large impersonal hotels.
It’s a joy to arrive late in the evening and be welcomed with a hug, and then enjoy a dish of delicious salad/fresh fruit previously ordered. Yes you can have food when you arrive late, details are on the informative hotel website.
It’s always good to catch up again with Huseyin the owner, and all the staff, they contribute so much to the happy informal atmosphere, and smooth running of the hotel. Also returning guests who have become good friends, so quite a lot of time may be spent lazing by the beautiful pool area, enjoying a cold drink and many chats!
The stunningly secluded location of the High Life, the unending sea views, the mountains behind, the delicious food, and especially the fantastic hotel team, altogether make me so happy to return.
So why not stay here, hire a car, explore the historic sites and beautiful remote countryside of North Cyprus, and hopefully like me you will love it and return.
ps Have included photos of delicious desserts, especially made by Eugeniu, the assistant manager!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LesleyT400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighLifeCyprus, Owner at High Life Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Lesley,

It is always awesome to have you back with us and we thank you for your wonderful review.

We are all already looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

A small Hotel located around 3 miles from the Harbour for those without children. During our stay the age profile of guests was 50+ with many paying a return visit. Several guests spent all day around the swimming pool. There is a very comprehensive library in Reception. The Hotel claims to be 3*. It is a very good 3*, but if you are looking for a 5* with entertainment; this is the wrong Hotel for you.
We arrived late (9.45pm) due to plane delays. Fortunately, the Hotel had arranged a taxi for us as we would not have found the Hotel ourselves as it is half a mile down a narrow lane with no hotel sign on the main road. No food was available upon our arrival (even in the bar or room) so, if you arrive late, pick up some food en-route from the airport.
Staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and clean, but lighting could be improved. I could not shave in the bathroom and even in the main bedroom it was difficult. No problems with the Internet reception, although someone in another room said they had difficulty around late afternoon. The TV had plenty of channels including a few English Language; but no UK channels and English programmes were either historic or not worth watching. We subscribe at home to Daily Mail Plus and were able to download and read the Daily Mail in bed in the morning on our Tablets. We also subscribe at home to Netflix, and could also watch this on our Tablets. I-Player is not available.
Breakfast was good quality. On the buffet was Cereal, Fresh Fruit & Yoghurt, Orange Juice, Toast, Tea and Coffee. Eggs (poached, omelette etc) were freshly cooked and were included. Extras included Full English/American (TL15), Filter Coffee (TL5), Freshly Squeezed Orange (TL5). A weekly BBQ was held on a Sunday (TL90) subject to demand, and was very filling and also of good quality. No risk of food poisoning from food left hanging around here! (Exchange Rate during our visit TL8 =£1)
Taxis could be ordered from reception to the centre of Kyrenia which usually cost TL30. Take a Visiting Card from Reception because the majority of Taxi Drivers have no idea where the Hotel is and, as well as the address, the Cards have a map on the back.
Others have mentioned the condition of the lane leading to the main road; I agree, it could do with a good litter-pick. 10 minutes walk to the main road.
Would I go again? If the Hotel was elsewhere - yes. Based upon the Hotel's location - No.

Room tip: Ask if you want twin or double or over-looking the pool. We didn't over-look the pool and it was probably more private as a result
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighLifeCyprus, Owner at High Life Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

High Life is for anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing environment close enough to the city crowd with a short ride, but also back to peace and tranquility quickly. We are on the sea, away from the main roads with 180+ degrees of sea view from our terrace, with a private deck and stairs into the water. Just 2.5 kms from the city center. Most of our rooms have sea views in addition to mountains, some both.

Our restaurant is generally open until around 22:00. Sounds like your arrival may have just missed it as it was towards the end of dinner time. We would have been happy to put something together for you or make prior arrangements as we usually do. Our guests who may arrive late can make choices from our menu posted on our site and have it ready waiting for them (preferable delicious cold dishes). This service is available at no extra charge.

Your feedback is important to us and getting a sign on the main road (which was unfortunately damaged twice recently) and more lighting in our rooms including reading lights are on top of our improvements list. We track guest suggestions in detail and will carry out work over this winter for improvements based on feedback.

Our internet service is generally very good and it is a service we specifically monitor constantly. Sounds like you were able to watch movies on Netflix without problems. Our wifi reception is excellent in all areas of our property. Still, we are planning to switch to a new provider with even more speed for 2019 season. We are not able to get local European channels due to geographical restrictions but our cable TV has many many channels in English, more than just a few. Providing some sort of tasteful live entertainment suitable to our atmosphere is in our immediate future plans.

Thank you for your comments on our food, which is very important to us.

We hope you will consider us again in the future if you feel like a relaxing, no hassle stay. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

I wholeheartedly agree with all the compliments this hotel deserves so I won’t bore you by repeating them . My issue is with northern Cyprus and the local area - quite frankly irs a dump !!a huge untidy building site. We hired a car and explored far and wide only to find endless eyesores of derelict unfinished abandoned building blocks and mountains of rubbish . Take a walk into Kyrenia ( as we did every day ) and see if you can see the bottles- packages -dog dirt -squashed cats -broken glass- nappies and general debris littering the paths and gardens and hedges . Nobody seems to care we saw people just throw things to the ground — bins were still unemptied 10 days into our visit . Even the harbor in Kyrenia is awash with jetsam.
A woman with 3 dogs along the lane takes them out every day and just watches them soil the road and pathways
We visit many countries and the mindset here ( the worst)seems to be “ chuck it and forget it” It was appalling to see this rubbish so close to the shoreline with the inevitable probability it would end up in the sea
So congratulations to Huseyin and his staff - they’ve created an oasis in this unattractive desert—the man who spends all day keeping the place spotless deserves a medal - as does the girl who services the rooms .
I just have 2 suggestions
1 -pay a local gang to clean up the lane from the main road to the property ( they’ll need lots of bags) — I can hear you say “it’s not our fault” — and I agree - but it is your problem because the approach road sets the tone for the whole place
2- give the waiter/ barman a tear off pad so he can write down what customers have to eat or drink - agree it with them - get them to sign it then deliver the slips to reception to be tallied at bill paying time —- simple ( removes all the doubt and misunderstanding)
End note - well done to High Life — you’re getting it right - just a few tweaks are needed

Room tip: Overlooking pool is good
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank STEWY88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighLifeCyprus, Owner at High Life Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing High Life and for your kind words on the hotel and the team.

Although by default we are not following up with our guests to sign for their extras each time as our setup doesn’t lend itself to it, the option is available upon request. Many of our guests get up and leave to their rooms at their leisure anytime, without waiting for a waiter to sign, which actually adds to the relaxing atmosphere we have. We therefore have a room statement that itemizes every single purchase and that in turn makes it possible for our guests to check in detail their spending. We can print room statements anytime with a click. Everything is charged to rooms as we do not have cash transactions on the spot (except for outside guests).

As for the other issue you have raised, we will seriously consider your first suggestion and have voiced and will continue to voice your general concern every chance we get with the local municipality. In fact, we managed to draw attention to your review and it was covered in a local newspaper by one of their columnists. The timing of your review coincides with an overall cleanup effort and municipality crews actually came and cleaned up the road leading to us recently. In addition to overall cleanup efforts, the government recently announced plastic bags will incur a charge at local markets which should contribute towards a cleaner environment initiative. Given these efforts and other positive aspects of North Cyprus such as its bright sunshine, friendly people, awesome food, sights and overall laid back easy feeling, we sincerely hope you will have enough reasons to come back.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We returned again this September for 2 weeks and were totally happy once again.
Past trips to Northern Cyprus has been via Ercan, but this time we tried Larnaca, which was no problem. Huseyin provides a taxi service both ways which was fine (extra charge ) Without repeating previous remarks here's our quick guide. Cleanliness, food, drinks, rooms, sunbeds, air con, walkin showers, gardens, terrace, and staff all get a massive thumbs up.
Huseyin and his team are focussed on ensuring your stay is relaxed and nothing seems to be a problem.
Meals are served to your table, not buffet style. Rooms are large and comfortable, basic and with a safe, comfy beds and very quiet air con. Remember this is not a new 5star casino style hotel, it's quiet peaceful and friendly with most guests British over 50s.
NOTE, if you have mobility issues book a ground floor room, also be aware that there are 70 steps down to the marvellous deck area over the sea. Do not let this put you off as the pool area is fine.
If you want a car Huseyin will arrange and add to your account, no need to deal with car hire company.
If you want a read there is a huge amount of books in reception.
If you want a curry, try Rafters, local and best curry we've ever had.
If you want traditional kleftico or local dishes try BellaMoon at Belapais.
If you want an honest review this was it.
We've already booked for next year, and it can't come quick enough !

Room tip: Rooms 21-26 best for mobility issues, 27-31 have mezzanine floor with good views
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighLifeCyprus, Owner at High Life Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Linda,

Thank you for being here for 2 weeks, it was great having you with us one again.
Thanks for taking the time to review us as well. Much appreciated.

We are constantly working on our rooms and will keep updating them each year. One of our near future projects involves a complete upgrade several at a time per year to provide more options. We are happy to hear generally from our guests that they are very comfortable.We made sure everything works.

Thanks for pointing out our pool area, which is a very cozy sun trap area.

Looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews