We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
51
22
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
22
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car hire deep end pleasant holiday location is ideal walking distance looking forward to our next visit escape beach minute walk sun loungers alison mustafa pool mountains cyprus rates castle
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We have stayed at the Villa Club before and the first couple of times had a pleasant trip. We returned a few weeks ago and had a very different experience. The first couple of days were OK until we decided to extend our visit. We informed the owner and he said it wasn't a problem. We returned at 2230 on the Sunday night with a very tired 4 year old to find ourselves locked out the room. The owner had done this on purpose. Once we had found him he very rudely asked where we had been and said we were lucky we got back when we did as he was just about to go home. We asked why on earth he had done this and he said as we hadn't paid that morning. We said to him that we thought he would take the payment from the card details he already had for us and if not he knew we would pay in the morning as we had done on previous occasions. He knew us and knew we lived here, also all of our belongings were in the room so it was evident we were returning. He told us he wouldn't be there in the morning which he lied about as he was there first thing the following morning as he always is. There was absolutely no need for his behaviour. We have stayed at the villa club numerous times as we live on the Island, we have also recommended it to friends that have stayed, something we will not be doing anymore. The owner was extremely rude to us as he was other guests. We witnessed it and we were told by other regulars that they will never stay there again. Also if you do stay and pay cash just be careful of the exchange rate the owner uses as we ended up paying nearly £70 when it should have only been £55.
The pool ruined 2 of my bikinis and my daughters swimming costume due to orange staining. Other guests complained of similar staining to their clothes. The prices behind the bar are absolutely ridiculously expensive. We took our own drinks which the owner went crazy about, very embarrassing in front of other guests. My husband asked if he bought beer from the bar would it be possible for me to drink my own cider by the pool as they don't sell cider and there is a very limited drinks selection, we were told absolutely not. He even went mad about our 4 year old having a bottle of low sugar squash as we don't allow her to have fizzy drinks or fruit juice.
We spoke to many other couples who had similar experiences with the owners rudeness and like us, will never return. Now rather than recommending it to our friends and colleagues on Island we tell people to stay clear. Thankfully we have found a lovely little hotel just up the road from the Villa club which is much friendlier, much cleaner, includes breakfast, the pool doesn't stain your clothes, they serve food and the drinks are very reasonably priced, it's also cheaper than the villa club.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustafa D, Owner at The Villa Club Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Madam,

We are shocked to read about your fabricated review and manufactured lies about our place.

First of all we did not extend your stay, secondly you violeted our hotel rules and regulations. Your husband was drinking day and night. You did not write about your husbands hiding the beers under the sunbeds and carrier bags around the pool so that the barmen could not see. Our barmen kindly asked him several times not to bring his own beer and food around the pool terrace. He persistently carried on doing it. Our bar has fizzy as well as non fizzy drinks and all kinds of beers and alcohol, your childs kind of drink and orange stain is also manufactured lies to intentionally harm our business. Our reviews speak for itself.

We do not have accommodation for lager louds at our hotel. We did not extend your extra night. You did not check out on your last day. You forced your stay on us by leaving all your belongings in the room and goingt out for the day. Left early in the morning and came back late that night. As you had a young child we were kind to you and did not touch your belonings in the room. You did not write about all these either.

Enjoy your stay in the little hotel you found nearby but please stay away from the Villa Club, we do not have room for trouble people.

Sincerely,
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The villa club is so nice and relaxing.We stayed in a mini villa which overlooked the swimming pool.The gardens are full of fruit trees and beautiful flowers and it is kept so clean.The owner is really nice and helpful with everything.You feel welcomed when you stay here.The swimming pool is a lovely big size and again its spotlessly clean.The mini villas are a very good size,lovely big shower with downstairs toilet,a little kitchen.It has a single bed and a settee which pulls out as another bed and then upstairs is a kingsize bed.The mini villas are spacious and will easily sleep four people.They have air conditioning.It is so nice to wake up in the morning sit on your veranda overlooking the pool.Its not far from the beach,maybe a 10 minute walk.There are plenty of shops along the main road and it's not far from Kyrenia town and harbour,you will need to get a taxi or a bus,it isn't expensive and is lovely for a walk round.We only stayed a couple of nights but will most def be back to stay again,you come away feeling totally relaxed.Thank you so much Villa club we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank jojo123016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night but we loved it. Bird song, scent of flowers and citrus trees laden with fruit. The setting is five minutes from a small beach but away from the main road. The pool is larger than average and the place is spotless. We went just out of season and it was beautifully quiet despite there being sixty guests there. Genial host, pleasant surroundings and a lemon from the orchard for your gin! Lovely.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Su T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Booked on line for a 6 day break,Welcomed by Mustafa on arrival and most helpful with all information regarding area,
Shown to very nice apartment over looking pool area and beautiful gardens well maintained very nice beach 5 minutes away and many restaurants I think it is a must to hire a car here if you want to travel the area and see the sights which there are many,
Very much enjoyed our stay and we have plans to return later.
Once again thanks to all,
Graham and Betty Martins

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

First visit to Northern Cyprus. Just returned after a 10 days stay at Villa club, me and my wife were very impressed. We stayed in a villa overlooking the pool. It was clean and spacious. Just out of season, we had the pool to ourselves nearly every day. 10 min walk to a lovely beach, 5 mins to get local bus which was very cheap and numerous of them running every 5 mins maximum. Also 5 mins to supermarkets and places to eat. We are already planning to go again 2016. The owner Mustafa could not have been more helpful. No negatives on our stay that we came across.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kingstonkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews