We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
66 Saint Paul's(Valletta)
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais Le Brun(Valletta)
US$190
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
La Falconeria(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,468)
Filter reviews
4,468 results
Traveller rating
2,079
1,499
629
175
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,079
1,499
629
175
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki restaurantprivate beachsea viewlarge hotelevening buffetfive stardeluxe roomthe busconcierge deskturn down serviceplenty of sunbedssteep hillmanoel islandpublic areasthe hotel offersmarsamxett harbour
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 4,468 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was lovely in lots of ways but I think I personally would rate it as a 4 * and not a 5 * hotel. It was very clean and we booked a deluxe room and wasn't too bothered about a view but we were upgraded to a deluxe room with a view of the pool which was lovely. The room was very spacious and I would class the room as 5 star. The room was cleaned several times a day and bottled water was provided daily.
The breakfast was excellent and the choice was amazing. The only fault was the hot drinks were not always as hot as I would have liked and the service was better the days when there was a manager supervising.
The indoor pool was very nice and very clean but the hot tub was warm rather than hot. The outdoor pool was not warm but seemed to be getting warmer once the weather was getting hotter. The beach is very tiny and not proper sand. We went snorkelling in the sea and there are plenty of fish to see however the steps into the sea are not very safe and definitely not suitable for children. At the moment there is a massive shortage of sunbeds and chairs around the pool and guests were very frustrated because they had nothing to sit on around the pool. I did write to the Manager asking if he could perhaps be at the pool one day to witness the problem that the pool attendants were having to deal with. I did receive a reply to my letter to say unfortunately the manager was busy. The letter also stated that they were awaiting 300 deckchairs from their supplier.
The hotel is in a nice location but if you have a problem with steps this is perhaps not the most ideal hotel.
We used the local busses and the main bus stops are just a 10 mins walk from the hotel and its very easy to get around the island using the busses.
We asked the concierge who was a very helpful Spanish gentleman about a trip to Gozo. He booked us onto a fantastic trip for 40 euros each. We were picked up and dropped off by boat from the hotel and it was an amazing tour.
The entertainment in the evening is very limited. We didnt eat in the hotel as there are so fabulous restaurants.
This was our first visit to Malta - it is a lovely Island with great views, fantastic restaurants buildings, such a varied history, lovely people and a great place to chill

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A Great hotel location close to a revitalised Valletta.
88 steps up to Valletta, an 8 min walk to the City and courtesy transport to the centre available. Nice views to the Harbour side.
Valletta is much more sophisticated and really offers everything now, some great restaurants in the evening and culture capital this year.
The City feels like its on the up and feels safe at night and has kept its charm.

Hotel attracts a more elderly clientele in May, felt we were in a remake of Cocoon at times!

Excelsior has a nice sophisticated feel to it and key it keeps attracting this multi-national, ABC1 target audience than the hen/stag parties of the northern part of the island. Some nice touches in our 2 week stay.

Positives
Staff are warm, welcoming and friendly.
Maid /room make up service and overall condition of the room was excellent.
8th floor, partial sea view
Good facilities overall, free parking too.
Ideal time we went was mid May - nice temperature to sunbathe and walk into town without it being too hot sweaty and humid and hotel wasn't full of kids and weddings
Good gym. Indoor pool for the winter.
Garden areas are beautiful though the steps, well maintained.

The negatives...
Hotel is looking tired in places - needs an exterior refresh and some renovation on some of the detail - eg sliding terrace doors,
Pool needs more loungers and tile repairs - perennial problem of bed availability and people selfishly taking beds with towels and going for breakfast.

Drinks and Food Pool Service is very variable and tired.
It needs a complete overhaul - hotel could make much more money with proactive waiting staff and maitre d' supervision and service by the beds and pool side.
Room service phone line was often engaged

Breakfast was expensive compared to in town.

Our acid test... would we go back again? ... Yes.

Room Tip: sea or partial sea view rooms are good
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank burdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While this hotel is very well located on the water in Valetta, the old charm is dwindling and it is in serious need of some renovations. The rooms are tired, the furniture is falling apart and it seems that the hotel is 15 years late on a needed renovation. That being said, the service level is high and close to par with a 5 star hotel but it doesn't make up for the incredibly lacking quality to the property. I would consider this a 5 star in its hay day, but today I would give it a 3.5 at best.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LuxeTourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Hotel , but be aware of the steps, eighty eight of them, only way to walk out of the hotel into Valletta. Bus trips very easy once in Valletta. Good shops and restaurants in Valletta. Do not miss the Casino.

Room Tip: Great room, hair dryer, dressing gown and slippers provided
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel looks grand but needs a refurb booked through P&O for one night so it didn't matter much
.but we had a ground floor room with a patio which faced a wall ate in the Harbour bar service terrible .fetched a meal for 3 instead of 4 waited a good 30 mins for the 4th .wouldn't want to stay a week .veiws from pool area are lovely

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav V, Guest Relations Manager at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lynn C,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Excelsior hotel.
I am sorry to read your meal in the Harbour View bar was not up to your expectations. I have shared your comments with the bar Manager to streamline our procedures to ensure this does not happen again.
I am pleased to see you enjoyed the pool area and our magnificent views!

Kind regards,
Gustav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews