We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$328
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$307
US$246
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$289
US$250
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
US$317
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$231
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$808
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
186
84
23
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
84
23
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspod bedsgrocery store across the streetcar dealershipusb charging portsair concomfortable mattresslounge areasliding doorslept like a babykey cardminute walksave some moneycommunal kitchenshower waterliving roomshared bathroomgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

For our trip with 37 people, I could not have made a better choice to choose the galaxy pod hostel. The rooms were super, and also the pods were an experience to sleep in. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. In short, a must to book.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great, helpful staff, unusual experience, comfy beds. There is breakfast available, you get your own locker and it is also really clean. I loved the view from the lobby and movie nights. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jagoda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I've always wanted to stay in a pod hostel and I finally got the opportunity to do so. The pods are very cool. I stayed in a 24 bed (pod) room but felt like I was in my own room, well besides when I was trying to be quiet coming back from a late night. There's a fairly big cabinet you are assigned if you wanna store a carry on bag in, otherwise you can lock our pod and unlock it using your card key. Pretty cool. Staff are friendly. There is free parking, but it is located next to a car dealership and sometimes finding a spot can be tough. The location was fine since we rented a car but if you want to walk to the harbor it is about 1.5 miles away.

Staying here was a great experience, but I wasn't sure what it was but it seemed the shower water smelled of rotten eggs. It made the bathrooms smell a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Moybien93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A special thanks to Lagoda and Frederico for their excellent reception customer service! By far, the most empathetic and helpful staff at Galaxy.

As a female middle age solo traveler, this place was better than expected! An easy walk to the grocery store across the street or to the awesome local geothermal community bath Laugardalslaug. What a great way to relax after a long flight!!

The accommodations were comfortable and quiet. The view to the ocean int he lounge was an unexpected bonus! Popcorn and movies every night featuring a movie filmed in Iceland. I saw Walter Mitty with Ben Stiller- who knew it was filmed in Iceland?!

Communal kitchen was tidy and convenient.

I would most definitely stay here next time!

Room Tip: I stayed in female only.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Anneliese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

A beautifully built and well maintained hostel.. Pod is an experience by itself, common areas and toilets are always clean despite the number of people living, very responsive staffs especially at the reception. Highly recommended for all types of travellers.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Shz_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews