We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful building

The Harpa as they call is a beautiful building overlooking the water. The glass structure is... read more

Reviewed 11 December 2018
nki65
,
New York City, New York
A must in Reykjavik

This building is so different and beautifull, the design and the all glass exterior is stunning... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2018
b0b2145
,
Gatineau, Canada
Read all 201 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from US$139.00
More Info
from US$46.03
More Info
from US$56.65
More Info
from US$16.76
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
113
70
15
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
70
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building different angles gift shop architecture performance gifts beauty
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Beautiful - the windows and the views are worth the visit alone. Tours are available for a price - we just wanted to wander around and soak it up. The cafe inside was very nice as was the inside market. The architecture was amazing.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I was not sure about coming in here, but I am so glad that we did. We did not stay long or catch an event. There was a little gift shop that had some cool stuff to look at. However, it was so beautiful inside. The windows look so much cooler inside. I think to really appreciate it, you need to go inside.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank JonathanH4306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This is certainly an architectural must see, we spent an age wandering up and down the stair cases, looking at the changes in view, the way the glass "crystals" line up in an infinite view. We were lucky enough to see someone having a private viewing and the guide let us follow through to an area overlooking the harbour which was quite stunning on a sunny day.
The restaurant was excellent value too.
It was just a shame we never go to see or hear a concert, but perhaps we will return one day? Again this was March 2015 but just got around to reviewing it.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Suffolk-Hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This is a wonderful building with glass that throws light and shadows everywhere.. Amazing. Stunning and beautiful.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank HFP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Wow, we were entranced by the Opera House. It is so impressive, so unusual, and so captivating! We went during "daylight" (dead of winter) when it was snowing, and then returned in the darkness (early evening after dinner). Worth going twice, as the lighting interacts with the glass and creates reflections. They turn on decorative lights after dark, which adds to the beauty. The snow on the ground and falling made for an even more magical experience.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews