We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a day!”
Review of Arctic Adventures

Arctic Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arctic Adventures is an Icelandic adventure and activity company. We are a bunch of outdoor and adventure fanatics committed to the mission of mixing business and adventure! With an emphasis on eco tourism and environmentally friendly trips, we want to offer the best for our customers to experience in the unique Icelandic nature. We provide tours ranging from exciting River Rafting and Snorkeling in one of the world's clearest waters to Glacier hiking and trekking in some of the most beautiful sceneries Iceland has to offer. Additionally a wide range of other activities is offered to adventurous travelers. Our main office is located in Reykjavik and our two base camps are located close to Geysir and Gullfoss (western Iceland) and in Skaftafell (southeastern Iceland). Go home with a story worth telling!
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corentin H, Customer Service at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ice climbing"
in 174 reviews
"blue ice"
in 137 reviews
"glacier hike"
in 175 reviews
"blue tour"
in 61 reviews
"grand slam"
in 18 reviews
"golden circle"
in 233 reviews
"northern lights"
in 176 reviews
"lava caving"
in 46 reviews
"day tour"
in 117 reviews
"silfra fissure"
in 50 reviews
"dry suit"
in 86 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 39 reviews
"lava tube"
in 33 reviews
"super jeep"
in 59 reviews
"tectonic plates"
in 52 reviews
"south coast"
in 73 reviews
"small group"
in 65 reviews
Filter

574 - 578 of 2,860 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

I have just completed the 7-day complete Iceland adventure tour departing 21 May 2018. Our tour guide cum driver ‘Rekky’ was not only an excellent driver, but also a knowledgeable guide who provided detailed information about the places visited and spoke good English and Portuguese (there was a Brazilian couple on the tour).

Day 2 was particularly tiring and hectic having to do the glacier hike followed by the Jökulsárlón glacier and diamond beach. I felt that the latter could have been given more time on day 3 to include a boat ride on the glacier lagoon rather than rushing through on day 2.

Day 3’s hike to Hengifoss was particularly strenuous. It was an uphill hike 2 km to the falls and 2 km back and took almost 2 hours to complete. Since there are other waterfalls on the itinerary, perhaps you could skip Hengifoss and give more time to Jökulsárlón.

Dettifoss also required a 15-minute hike each way. The 30 minutes given was barely sufficient. At least 45 minutes should have been given.

The restaurant at Myvatn Natural Baths was under renovation on the day we went and we couldn’t have any lunch there. We were only given around 45 minutes at the next stop at the lava fields around 3.30 pm for a bowl of soup. Better time management and coordination could have avoided this situation where sightseeing time had to be shared with lunch time.

Despite these minor hiccups, we enjoyed the 7-day trip very much although the pace could have been a bit slower and omitting some of the more strenuous hikes eg. Hengifoss. The highlight of the tour must be the whale watching trip at Dalvík. We paid extra for the rhib boat and it was worth every kroner. We managed to see 4 whales within the 2 hour trip at close range.

Thank aukahkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Customer Service at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear aukahkay62,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this detailed review, we really appreciate your thorough feedback.

The itinerary for our 7 Day Complete Iceland tour is certainly chock full of stops, sights and activities. We designed it to give our customers a good mix of all of them: Many of them enjoy the hikes that we offer as a counterpart for the relaxed sightseeing and bus drives. However we completely understand that they are not always an option for everyone, and guests who do not feel up for them are welcome to opt out of these activities.

We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your tour as a whole. If you make your way back to Iceland, please don't hesitate to reach out to us, we would love to help you plan you a holiday just after your taste!

All the best,
Arctic Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Customer Service at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing experience hiking up to the glacier, going inside the ice cave and walking back down the face of the Glacier. We lucked out with beautiful weather and Claire was a phenomenal guide. She educated us all on the history of the Glacier and how it's been receding, as well as the plants and wildlife you can find in this unique environment. Going to Iceland in the winter was truly unforgettable for us, mainly because of this hike and seeing the northern lights. Would love to go back in the summer, but if you make it there in the winter, be sure to sign up for a glacier hike like this one. Crystal cave is pretty, but you are bused right to it. If you prefer a little more adventure, do the hike and see an ice cave!

Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa W, Customer Service at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear John O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review, we certainly appreciate it!

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and that Clare shared her love for and knowledge about Iceland so well. I will make sure to let her know that you were very satisfied with her services!
Glacier hikes are an exceptional experience year round, customers can not only join us in the winter but also during the summer months where the sunshine and the ice make for a fascinating contrast.

If you do make your way back here in summer we would love to take you on more (glacier) adventures!

Best regards from Iceland,
Arctic Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

A great way to see the whole of Iceland. Alvera, our guide, was fantastic. He had good knowledge, good English and a great sense of humour. Felt very safe with his driving and he passed on his passion for the country and love of the natural wonders as we visited waterfalls, glaciers, fjords and had time to take in the scenery. What a way to really experience a country. Well done Arctic Adventures and Alvera.

Thank watsonc388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verónica G, Customer Service at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear watsonc388,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it!

I'm glad to know that Alvaro's knowledge and passion caused a good impression on you!
Our guides always try to provide the memorable experience to our customers.

We really hope that you will remember your time in Iceland for many years and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again!

All the best,
Verónica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arctic Adventures also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Arctic Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing