We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
11
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lower floor shared kitchen nice room coffee machine other guests netflix toiletries fridge downtown airport shower city
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Even if it is outside the city center it is easily reachable by car in just 10-15 minutes. We stayed here the first and last night of our trip to Iceland. Both rooms were spacious and comfortable, the shower simply wonderful! The kitchen is new, clean and has all the appliances, from the microwave to the coffee machine. In the fridge we also found some drinks just for us! Joanna, the owner, is really really helpful! At first we booked the wrong date and she allowed Booking to change our reservation without any additional cost, very kind! As soon as we arrived she also gave us some important tips to visit Reykjavik and the whole island.
Absolutely recommended! :)

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Federica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I had booked a surprise holiday for my girlfriend to see the northern lights. Unfortunately storm Emma hit grounding all flights meaning we could not attend.

Despite giving 4 days notice they refused to refund the money. The other 3 hotels we were due to stay at did so without hassle, compassionately understanding there was nothing anyone could do.

Having looked on the day we were due to stay at Maxhouse they had sold out their whole accommodation for that night, therefore they had resold the room DOUBLING their money.

Think it's disgusting that they would look to take advantage of people in a situation completely out of their own control. Is a sign of the kind of people running the place.

Room tip: Book another hotel
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichaelHeneghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked a night at the Maxhouse last minute when our flight to Maryland was cancelled. The room was simply beautiful—modern yet cozy, spotless, and comfortable. The room was large and the private bathroom was huge. From the moment we booked, our hostess could not have been more hospitable. She offered us snacks and coffee, and helped us book a taxi, and even helped with the pronunciation of the address. The distance from the city was a tad inconvenient for us, since we were spending our time downtown and had to return our rental car a day prior when our flight was scheduled to depart... BUT if you don’t mind staying in the suburbs, and if you have a rental car, I can’t imagine being able to find a better option than Maxhouse. We’re so glad we stumbled upon it when we did!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Of all the places we stayed in Iceland, this was the nicest by far. This guesthouse is outside of the downtown Reykjavik area, but about 15 minutes away by car (and we did notice a bus stop not far from the location). Joanna was a wonderful hostess and made sure we had everything we needed, from toiletries to Wi-Fi. There were also really nice perks, like Netflix, neat room lighting, and free drinks and candies in the shared kitchen area. I will say that the drive up was a little daunting because there was so much construction in the neighborhood; don't let that deter you. The rooms were incredibly comfy and immaculately kept, and you're close to many amenities (e.g., gas station, shops, restaurants, etc.). Should I ever return to Iceland, I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pwiggily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is situated about 10-15 minutes outside of downtown in a secluded neighborhood. Some of the neighboring homes on the street are still under construction, but since we were never in the unit during working hours it wasn't an issue.

There are 4 units below the home that the host lives in. There is a shared kitchen with fridge, and complementary coffee and soda. We never saw the other guests during our time there.

The unit is new, clean, and quite nice. The beds are comfortable and the shower has good pressure. Everything in the unit is solid and well made.

If you don't need to stay downtown, this is a great choice.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews