We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Akureyri Hostel HI(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrum Hostel(Akureyri)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skjaldarvik Guest House & Restaurant(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Torg Guesthouse(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Kjarnalundur(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
208
129
20
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
129
20
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenfree beerprivate roomburger and beerclean toiletswelcome drinkbar downstairsplace to staythe main streetbed dormnice atmospheretop floorrecommend staying herelocated rightperfect locationother travelershappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Akureyri Backpackers is one of the best accommodations I have ever been to. Very friendly staff, fantastic food and always good entertainment for example with seeing a singer performing there. It’s definitely worth staying there or just for having a cake or dinner there.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Akureyri is a super fun "city" in Iceland, and Akureyri Backpackers is a perfect place to stay to explore the city. The hostel was very lively with a fun bar downstairs with lots of people mingling and having fun. The actual space where the rooms were were quiet, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend staying here if you're in town and looking for a reasonably priced and comfortable place.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Nice interior design, very friendly staff and owner. It's a cafe down stairs so people just chill and having fun. The doors are safe and the washrooms are clean. The rooms are spacious but i would be happy if there are curtains for privacy at mix dorm. At night there are police checking out the place at the ground floor but i guess everything is fine as it doesnt disturb anyone there. It's a great place to stay and a lot of guide brochures available. you wont be .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelista_tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

I loved the overall spirit, free sauna, kitchen space, lovely staff, practical details in the rooms and corridors and downtown location. Free welcome drink was also a nice plus. Can higly reccomend for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateřina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

I stayed at about 5 different hostels in my trip to Iceland, and this one was my favorite. It has a nice layout and uniqueness. I would say its definitely geared for adults and not so much families or children. It seemed to me that I met more nice travelers in this this hostel than the rest of my trip combined! Restaurant and bar on the main floor is also a great hangout spot. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip through Akureyri!

Room Tip: Unique Social Hostel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zachary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews