We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
222
133
21
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
133
21
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free beer the kitchen private room burger and beer free sauna welcome drink bar downstairs gull beer clean toilets bed dorm place to stay the main street top floor nice atmosphere located right recommend staying here perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

The Akureyri Backpackers is one of the best accommodations I have ever been to. Very friendly staff, fantastic food and always good entertainment for example with seeing a singer performing there. It’s definitely worth staying there or just for having a cake or dinner there.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Akureyri is a super fun "city" in Iceland, and Akureyri Backpackers is a perfect place to stay to explore the city. The hostel was very lively with a fun bar downstairs with lots of people mingling and having fun. The actual space where the rooms were were quiet, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend staying here if you're in town and looking for a reasonably priced and comfortable place.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Nice interior design, very friendly staff and owner. It's a cafe down stairs so people just chill and having fun. The doors are safe and the washrooms are clean. The rooms are spacious but i would be happy if there are curtains for privacy at mix dorm. At night there are police checking out the place at the ground floor but i guess everything is fine as it doesnt disturb anyone there. It's a great place to stay and a lot of guide brochures available. you wont be .

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelista_tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

I loved the overall spirit, free sauna, kitchen space, lovely staff, practical details in the rooms and corridors and downtown location. Free welcome drink was also a nice plus. Can higly reccomend for budget travellers.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATLANNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

I stayed at about 5 different hostels in my trip to Iceland, and this one was my favorite. It has a nice layout and uniqueness. I would say its definitely geared for adults and not so much families or children. It seemed to me that I met more nice travelers in this this hostel than the rest of my trip combined! Restaurant and bar on the main floor is also a great hangout spot. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip through Akureyri!

Room tip: Unique Social Hostel
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZacharyF204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews