We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside dog cafe”
Review of cafe Carusel

cafe Carusel
Ranked #71 of 110 Quick Bites in Helsinki
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Bakery cafeteria with a beatiful sea view. Lunch buffet every week day at 11-14 Daily soups and sallads. Artesan style pizza menu
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This cafe has a beautiful seaside location. The bulky exterior is quite ugly.

It was very surprising that there were nearly 10 dogs inside at the same time. I am allergic to dogs.

It was raining on our visit. So it was a pity that we couldn't sit outside on the terrace in the fresh air.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2021

Made a mistake by ordering a veggie pizza for 15 €, which turned out to be different than before. The shape was rectangular - not round - with extra wide chunky sides.
I prefer a thin, soft crust, but this was thick, and so dry and hard, that I had difficulties cutting it with a sharp steak knife! Too bad, that also the taste was only mediocre. What a shame.
Luckily the wine was decent - and the sea was there in place to be admired.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thearcticexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2019

Service was unbelievable badly organized. Tons of people enjoying nice warm sunny Saturday. But only 3 persons at the disk. Regardless if you wanted to have a drink or something to eat do needed to queue for at least 30 mins.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jukka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2019

Cafe Carusel has a great location and the food is pretty good quality. We had a Parma pizza - it was a touch cold when it came out, but it was tasty anyway. The deck is an amazing space to sit and enjoy the view of the waterfront. The waitstaff keep the tables clean and the place spotless which is excellent. All in all we'd give it another try.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AusJavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2019

Been at this place twice lately (early afternoon, no queues), was surprised of the tasty ravioli pasta thus came for a second pasta serving, took the magnum shrimp penne, still satisfied.
The terrace has been lately been renovated, giving a wider view of the sea. It also gives the cleaning service, eg.sparrows a free view of the by the customers' leftovers.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jerry059
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed cafe Carusel also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to cafe Carusel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.