We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
552
276
75
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
276
75
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf courses are great golf three courses pro shop play golf golf break golf resort in great condition clubhouse bar round of golf driving range tee times tapas bar breakfast was excellent challenging golf main restaurant hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

This is the 8th time we’ve been to this area and it just keeps getting better and better! There are more bars and restaurants opening every year. The boardwalk is 6km long and is fantastic! There are all sorts of accommodation for all pockets. We simply love the area and thoroughly recommend the whole coastline between La Cala right down to Porto Banus!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerRelationsLCR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Gary A,

Thank you very much for keeping on coming back to La Cala Resort.

We are glad that you also enjoyed the area and all the things that La Costa del Sol has to offer.

We would love to see you again in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Teresa Hernández
Customer Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Good place for a short golf break as there are 3 courses. However during our visit a few things went wrong with food, bookings in restaurants & on 1 golf course which the management admitted had issues & needed much renovation especially of one particular hole & all the bunkers. When we complained they eventually refunded the cost of a meal & after much aggravation provided a 25 minute massage. But the operation manager 'Pedro' was , like his staff not really interested. Shame as one of the restaurants was good & the reception staff very helpful. Nothing to do if it rains though!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerRelationsLCR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Simon C,

Thank you very much for your comments.

As we already told Michelle C in this very same forum last November 5th, we are very sorry to hear that we did not met your expectations.

As you well say, our Operations Manager met with you during your stay and he very carefully listened to all your suggestions and recommendations. Please correct me if I am wrong, but also our Spa Manager, F&B Manager and ProShop Manager met with you at some point. Please allow me to say that it shows nothing but interest in what you had to say.

We did agree with you when it comes to some of the things that you brought to our attention, and that is why we felt that we needed to compensate it to you in some way (thank you very much for mentioning it).

It is our main goal to meet all of our clients’ expectations. We always try to be flexible and understanding, and when we feel that we fail our guests in some way, we try to do our best to remedy it.

Please, if you feel that there is anything else that we can do for you, do not hesitate to tell us.

Warm regards,

Teresa Hernández
Customer Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We were in room 301 overlooking Asia. Nice view and terrace, sun-facing at the end of the day. In prior years, we have taken a room facing Europe course which has lovely sun in the morning, but we enjoyed going on the other side. This is our 5th trip to La Cala, so we know what to expect and it doesn't disappoint. Except for the bathroom which, I was hoping, would have been redone by now but wasn't. Getting in and out of the bath is tricky, and the owners should really do something about it. Everything else was great. The staff was welcoming, the breakfast as good as always, with fresh juice, selection of breads, cold cuts and eggs. The breakfast staff work efficiently and are always very nice and very pleasant. I would suggest a change of the toaster which kept making some kind of grinding noise without stop... Not a big deal but a bit annoying. This one is past its prime.

New housing developments are being built around La Cala, so I hope that in the coming years it will keep a friendly, not overly busy atmosphere. One of the reasons we come back is the 3 golf courses - challenging and always a pleasure to play on all of them. Be prepared to use extra balls! There was always a food buggy doing the rounds.

All in all, a good week of golf, chill out time, rest and relaxation. I am sure we will come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerRelationsLCR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Jinouch,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in La Cala resort with other Trip Advisor users.

I have forwarded your comment regarding the toaster to my colleagues in the F&B department. Thank you very much for bringing up this issue to our attention.

When it comes to the bathrooms, I cannot tell you for sure exactly when they will be renovated. Their general condition is outstanding, but we do understand you when you say that a shower may be more comfortable than a bath tub.

Once again, thank you very much for being such a loyal guest.

We do look forward to seeing you very soon.

Warm regards,

Teresa Hernández
Customer Relations Department



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel we use every year in November for golf adventures possibilities in Andalucía. It is very nice Hotel with very good service. Rooms are also nice and clean. Friendly personal helps you with all kind of requests. Hotel is located few km from nearest village, but you have all you need here and do not need travel anywhere. However for 12€ you can take taxi to La cala Mijas and you are on sea side. Hotel have very nice restaurant with good food and nice service. Have been here now 8 years after each other and will for sure come back. Resort have 3 golf courses. Asia, Europe and America. All 3 are in good shape and have improved during the years. If you like travel from here there is Malaga or Gibraltar within one hour drive or Ronda 1,5 hours drive. Recommend for golf or non golf players to try it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pepasved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerRelationsLCR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Pepasved,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for your fantastic review.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Teresa Hernández
Customer Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

In a jungle of "golf resorts" La Cala stands out. Rare to find 3 top notch golfcourses, a (almost) 5 star hotel and a small but high class Spa.
Restaurant friendly, effective. an be a little too busy when hotel is full. Make reservation! Staff in hotel ad in the club house very friendly and helpful.
Golf Courses spectacular (unfortunately you need a buggy). Asia (old South course )being refurbished and not quite ready yet.

Room Tip: Junior Suit with afternoon sun
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brekkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerRelationsLCR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cala Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Brekkan,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your understanding when it comes to the improvement works that are being done in the Asia Golf Course. Next time you visit us, you will enjoy it even more.

We are happy to hear that you also visited our Spa and Restaurants.

We would love to see you again in a not too distant future!

Warm regards,

Teresa Hernández
Customer Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews