We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed alive but went to heaven”
Review of Tapabento

Tapabento
Ranked #3 of 2,089 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We have no other option to announce our holidays: Closed for holidays from 23th December 2017 until the 8th January 2018. Wishes of a great year 2018!
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The food here is exceptional. It seems such a relaxed and down to earth place. Simple and comfortable decor but the food is spectacular. The fois gras toast has mutated into a complex melt in the mouth confection that seduces and bewilders the senses with a combination of soft savoury sweetness. Makes a great foil to the cool clean delights of the salmon ceviche. The lady in charge is a truly skilled and warm host and the staff are friendly informed and diligent. Booking ahead is must. Missing this is not an option.

1  Thank RRamanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gestor_de_Clientes, Gestor at Tapabento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

What a pleasure to read your review! It is so nice to read such words! We appreciate you took a bit of
your time to write this opinion and are very happy you had a great and special day :) We all thank you
and hope to see you soon, anytime you come to Porto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 4,056 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Our first food stop in Porto and it was so so delicious! A lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, and amazing food!

1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gestor_de_Clientes, Gestor at Tapabento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you very much for your review and share of experience! Great reviews always leave us with a
big smile on our faces :) Have a great day and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

This was our last meal in our 10 days in Portugal. As a foodie, we had sought out great places (not fine dining) to get good food, so we have a pretty good benchmark.

This was definitely one of the top three meals we had on our trip.

Ignore your instincts when you find out the place is right across from the train station. Nor when you look at the eye-watering high prices (15-20 euros per plate of food??)

Because there are only two things that matter. One is that the seafood is really, really good. And the second is that while the price per plate is expensive, the plates are HUGE.

Don't go crazy - start with three plates between two people first, and see how you go.

My recommendations:
- prawns in garlic sauce. Amazing. Huge prawns, very fresh, and great sauce.
- Clams in lemon sauce. Also amazing, I recommend as well.
- Meagre ceviche. This is a white fish, similar to seabass. This was great too, but after the prawns and clams, it felt like meh, but in any other restaurant would have been the star dish.

Don't go for the bread - disappointingly, it was not very good baguette.

Do make reservations - this place fills up, even for lunch.

The best comparison I have is to Cervejaria Ramiro in Lisbon, which is like the most popular place for seafood there. The seafood here is as fresh as there, but better because the sauce is so much nicer. Pricing is about the same. Come here if you're a big seafood lover.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gestor_de_Clientes, Gestor at Tapabento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

What a great review :) It is sooo nice to read such words and we are so glad to feel you enjoyed that
much. We appreciate you took a bit of your time to write this opinion and hope to see you again
sometime. Wishes of a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

A menu with many options for simply sharing with friends Tapabento is a favourite among tourists. The lineups start early with many people hoping to land a spot without making a reservation first. Food is great - staff are friendly and courteous. This was a first rate eating experience with the team of 12 I travelled with.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gestor_de_Clientes, Gestor at Tapabento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

What a pleasure to read your review! It is so nice to read such words! We appreciate you took a bit of
your time to write this opinion and are very happy you had a great and special day :) We all thank you
and hope to see you soon, anytime you come to Porto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We were recommended this place and I am sending a huge thank you to the person who made this recommendation! Located in an unassuming exterior space opposite the old train station in Porto, the focus here is on the food and the guest. Family style? This place absorbs you into the family.
The interpretations of several dishes was a visual, as well as a gustatory, treat. Their wines are all local and all outstanding. The kitchen runs like a Swiss watch. The service is prompt, efficient, unimposing, knowledgeable and fun, and their ability to relate the offerings to their guests' preferences is a real skill. In 9 languages!!! Isabel, the proprietress, has assembled a team - a most welcoming family - that is seamless and that has their guests firmly front of mind. Our waitress, Rosa, was outstanding and, from the very start, we were treated to an incredible dining experience. This is what food, excellent service -- and seriously great dining -- should be.
Reservations are a must, and the house honors your appointment. We were told that the dinner would take about 1 1/2 hours, and we took exactly that, without feeling rushed at all. Isabel, your management of the guests is a magical skill. Bravo!!! We will most definitely recommend.
PS: We normally don't revisit restaurants when on travel, so as to get a full experience of the local dining scene, but are happy to make an exception for Tapabento. The next time we are in Porto we are absolutely coming back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gestor_de_Clientes, Gestor at Tapabento, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

What a pleasure to read your review! It is so nice to read such words! We appreciate you took a bit of
your time to write this opinion and are very happy you had a great and special day :) We all thank you
and hope to see you soon, anytime you come to Porto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapabento also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Tapabento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing