We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning ”
Review of Taberna Ruel

Taberna Ruel
Reserve with
Taberna Ruel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 716 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$65
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located on one of the oldest streets of Funchal, the Taberna Ruel Restaurant aim to be a mark in the historic center of Funchal. This location grants a special atmosphere so you can enjoy an unforgettable experience. Working with local ingredients of high quality, passion for what we do and innovative cooking techniques are what distinguishes us. The wine cellar with a wide selection of Portuguese wines are carefully framed in a secular cistern. The restaurant by its unique location in the heart of the Funchal historical center, was initially launched as Taberna da Esquina, today the restaurant is Taberna Ruel a natural evolution by the recognition of our guests to Richard Ruel great passion in the use of products from Madeira and its constant search for new flavors. The renovation of the building was awarded with the prize for "Heritage Recovery of Funchal City Historical Center - 2011" by the Municipality of Funchal.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We visited here after reading the positive reviews on here and were not disappointed. The food and service were fantastic. To start we had limpets and mussels. They were delicious and the mussels were massive! For main course we had the octopus which is the best that we have ever eaten and an excellent beef dish grilled on a skewer which was tender and tasty. The service was polite, attentive but not intrusive. The price was very reasonable. We were delighted and will be back.

Thank Ilikefoodandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Guest Relations Manager at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

It is a pleasure to read your comment. We got very happy thanks to clients like you, who make our lives happier. We hope you have felt like coming back because it will be a great pleasure to serve you again. Thank you!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

The squids were prepared in fantastic way!!! So fresh, so tasty! Od you like fishes od swą food, this place is just for you :)

Thank Ania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Guest Relations Manager at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for visiting us and enjoying our gastronomy, we always use quality products and we make our dishes with a lot of affection. As you liked this dish, we thought you would like our other suggestions too, so do not forget to ask on a next visit, which we hope will be soon.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

At least once during our trip we wanted to eat in the historic center of Funchal. To pick out a restaurant in the Rua Santa Maria, we used the Tripadvisor rating. Based on the overall rating of Taberna Ruel, we expected a lot more. The fish soup we had as a starter was a simple vegetable soup with few and small pieces of fish. The parrot fish was OK, but not extraordinary good. It was accompanied with undercooked vegetables. The service was friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PPRubens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Guest Relations Manager at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We're very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We will consider your comment and hope to be able to satisfy you on your next visit.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

After reading the great reviews, we decided we had to try this restaurant for our evening meal. We chose to sit in the garden, which is sort of inside/outside lovely surroundings. Otto and the girls really made our evening, so nice to be served by genuine happy staff nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing, we opted for traditional Madeira food, home made bread with the tomato and onion soup and chestnust soup. We tried the scabbard and banana with side salad and traditional milho was all beatifully served and tasted fabulous. Cheese boad and cheese cake followed, will definitely be back before we go home. Great food, brilliant service and so reasonably priced, highly recommend. Thanks guys our best evening of our holiday

Thank Nicci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Guest Relations Manager at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for visiting us and enjoying our gastronomy, we always use quality products and we make our dishes with a lot of affection. As you liked this dish, we thought you would like our other suggestions too, so do not forget to ask on a next visit, which we hope will be soon.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Found this restaurant by a fluke we were made welcome from the minute we walked in the door Otto showed us the fresh fish and explained the rest of the menu
All dishes served to us were fantastic fresh fish juicy rack of lamb lasagne was very moist
Will be back

Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Guest Relations Manager at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

The entire Taberna Ruel restaurant team was very happy to read your words. We strive every day for our guests to have a wonderful experience of Madeira Island flavours. As we want to surprise you again positively, do not forget to ask for the day suggestions. See you later!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna Ruel also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Taberna Ruel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing