We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Franco's Corner

Franco's Corner
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 26/09
20:00
Ranked #14 of 785 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$104
Description: It's a Restaurant with wide variety of refined meals! Fish, Meat, Seafood or our Vegetarian Dishes, every meal is made with the best ingredients, and a lot of passion! Anytime, anywhere, if you need we have a free transportation vehicle, to bring you to the restaurant and take you back. You only need to ask when making the reservation.
Restaurant details
Description: It's a Restaurant with wide variety of refined meals! Fish, Meat, Seafood or our Vegetarian Dishes, every meal is made with the best ingredients, and a lot of passion! Anytime, anywhere, if you need we have a free transportation vehicle, to bring you to the restaurant and take you back. You only need to ask when making the reservation.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Visited this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews, didn’t disappoint, great food and great service, likely to come back before our holiday is over

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank johnsR6590QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco's Corner, Proprietário at Franco's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer

Greetings from the Franco´s Corner Restaurante . Thank you very much for your positive feedback that shall only encourage our team to continue the good work here.

Your kind comments on the service will surely be conveyed to our team to keep them motivated in maintaining this excellent service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Franco´s Corner in the future ;)

Kind regards,

Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend were lucky enough to get a table here at Franco's to celebrate her Birthday and it was by far one of the best we had tried on the island. We had the lobster and prawn risotto and the seabass which was caught and served on the day, service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble , very attentive from the all the staff Graciales(?) , Sarah and himself Franco who was taking time to speak to the customers. We were both very happy, wine was flowing all evening and my girlfriend was given a lovely cake and a little surprise by Franco to wish her a happy birthday.
Honestly, if your visiting Madeira and want to be spoilt with some amazing food, wine and ambience then visit Francos Corner, we also returned on our last night for the 2nd time and it was just like the first, but better! Thank you Franco and to the entire team who waited on us throughout our evening.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco's Corner, Proprietário at Franco's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Hello Grant, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
We are very happy to know that you and wife had an amazing experience at Franco’s Corner.
We look forward your next visit

Kind Regards

Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Franco’s Corner is lovely on the inside, the staff dnd Franco himself were very attentive and couldn’t be faulted.

For starter we shared an excellent cheese and meat platter which had a lovely pesto cheese on. Very good starter couldn’t fault it.

We decided on chateaubriand for our main and as good as it looked it unfortunately didn’t match flavour wise. For me it was beautifully tender but quite under seasoned and a bit bland on its own. A shame for such a good cut of meat but the sauce supplied made it palatable.

Only I had a desert which was chocolate duo. Unfortunately this was a bit dry and the ice cream that came with it was more “ice” than cream.

Other reviews seem to have had a better experience than we did. A shame as this was the most expensive meal of our trip, unfortunately it didn’t live up to its pricing.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank udontsavethose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco's Corner, Proprietário at Franco's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear customer
Greetings from the Franco´s Corner Restaurante .
It was a pity that you didn't leave our restaurant fully satisfied and I'm sorry for that .
Next time you visit us I am sure you will have a better experience in our restaurant.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Franco´s Corner in the future ;)

Kind regards,

Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

Despite having arrived on the wrong evening we were welcomed with a smile, and seated despite Franco’s being busy.
Service was excellent only surpassed by the quality of the dishes.
The dish I ate was cod with prawns which was delicious followed by panacota with red berries. The price was very reasonable and we will be returning, on the date we actually booked!

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank AndrewF425
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco's Corner, Proprietário at Franco's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Hello Andrew, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
We are very happy to know that you and your wife had an amazing experience at Franco’s Corner.
We look forward your next visit

Best Regards

Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely evening here . It was our last night in Madeira and we were lucky enough to get a table outside . The atmosphere is romantic and extremely pleasant with comfortable seats and plenty of spacing between. The owner welcomed us with sincerity ! and all
the staff were wonderful. The man who looked after us was courteous , dignified , and made us feel special. The food was beautifully presented and tasty with obvious freshness. Price wise it was at a reasonable upper end but worth it for it’s all round excellence - not just a foody place! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank nowmeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco's Corner, Proprietário at Franco's Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Dear customer

Greetings from the Franco´s Corner Restaurante . Thank you very much for your positive feedback that shall only encourage our team to continue the good work here.
It was an honor to serve you and your wife in our restaurant and whenever you visit us you will always come to this house.

Your kind comments on the service will surely be conveyed to our team to keep them motivated in maintaining this excellent service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Franco´s Corner in the future ;)

Kind regards,

Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franco's Corner also viewed

 

Been to Franco's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.