We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,079)
Filter reviews
2,079 results
Traveller rating
1,121
679
215
48
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,121
679
215
48
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suiteindoor poolsea viewlido areamodern hotelfree safefive star hotelexcellent hotelstayed bed and breakfastbuffet breakfastpoolside barlarge balconyreception stafflocal restaurantssun loungersstayed here for a weeka la carte restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 2,079 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Stayed in a Sea View Room which was quite spacious, with a good size balcony. Room was a bit "tired" though, due for re-decoration.
On getting to the hotel was warmly welcomed by the hotel staff, over my stay were able to help with my queries.
Breakfast a disappointment, no welcome on entry. Not enough waiters, delivered first cup of coffee then disappeared. Food quality was quite poor bland meat and cheeses. Fortunately there was a lovely "restaurant/café" just over the road.
Excellent service in all areas, sometimes a bit slow due to staffing numbers, but as such a lovely, relaxed atmosphere did not mind.

Room Tip: Sea Views is picturesque but you did pick up "load" music from beach and nearby hotel poolside entertainments.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest Bob W
Thank you for taking time in posting your review.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and appreciate your constructive criticism which will be discussed internally with a view to be actioned on. Our apologies for the service inconsistency - your feedback is essential in our efforts in maintaining brand standards and achieving complete guest satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back and thank you for your preference,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Have delayed writing review as had mislaid names of staff who made this holiday so perfect.
It is a beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean and in a great location. I had pre booked an 'accessible' room for my wife, and the room catered for all her needs, raising bars on toilet and a walk in shower.
We were on half board and food was plentiful and varied, with theme nights; additionally we were allowed to dine in a la carte area on a couple of nights during our two week stay.
Although this is a wonderful hotel, with very good food above all else it is the staff that made this such a wonderful experience for us: so hoping that I've not forgotten anyone a Big Thank You to: Karina, Simone, Fatima, Angela, Dinarte, Lennin and Dino and finally Carolina who serviced our room so well each day.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mice60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest mice60

Thank you for your fabulous review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our services and facilities and happy we were able to deliver on our brand standards.. Yes, we're fortunate in having a great team who work hard to provide friendly, warm and efficient service hospitality to all those who choose to stay with us and can assure you your commendation is much appreciated and will be shared internally with all.

We hope we contributed to a memorable and relaxing holiday experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon !.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

On a 1 week holiday on the beautiful island of Madeira and this hotel is beautiful. We are staying in a side sea veiw room and to be honest the veiw of the sea and surrounding areas is fantastic and we don’t have to hang precariously from our balcony to see it! Beautiful buffet breakfast with everything you could wish for. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room immaculate. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest Mrs/Ms Sharon R
Thank you for sharing your very kind and positive review. We're delighted you're enjoying your room and our services and facilities.... Hope you have a relaxing holiday experience with us and enjoy our beautiful island !...
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Well located hotel on the western outskirts of Funchal with good bus service into the centre.
Room was large with balcony for afternoon and evening sun. Good bathroom/toilet area though needed a bit of TLC, edge of bath rusted.
Breakfast was generally good. There was a good choice, but no variation from day to day. Cooked food could have been hotter.

Check in and out was efficient.

Bar service was good and enjoyed the nightly music on offer.

We were not informed of offers from the spa as mentioned in another review and on visiting the indoor pool one morning saw an aqua aerobics session going on. Would have been nice to have been informed.

Generally a good hotel, but there was that little something missing that one expects from 5* venue.

Room Tip: Book room above pool where the balcony is in the sun all day.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank gwyndaf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest gwyndaf2

Many thanks for sharing your review...
We value your feedback which is important to us in our efforts in ensuring we meet with brand standards and with a view to attaining complete guest satisfaction. We're sorry not all our services met with your approval and apologize for any service inconsistency.
Hope, nevertheless to have contributed to a relaxing holiday experience during your time in Madeira and thank you for your preference.

Hope to welcome you back sometime soon in the near future.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Jet2 were absolutely brill .from getting to the airport going and getting back to Birmingham home we had a great time flights good on-board food amazing the hotel fantastic room also the bar staff amazing the cleaners all fantastic. The hotel meliha mate

Room Tip: None we had a fridge to put our water in and it was stocked with beers come lemonade ECT
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank Kevinhunter763t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest Kevinhunter763t

Many thanks for reviewing our Resort.

We're delighted you had an enjoyable time with us and that our services and facilities met with your satisfaction.

We hope to have contributed to a relaxing and memorable holiday break and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

With kind regards and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews