We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Latada do Doutor

Latada do Doutor
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 21/10
20:00
Ranked #81 of 787 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Description: The restaurant "Latada do Doutor" it's placed in the heart of the Funchal city. A place dedicated to the love of the well eating and drinking, with a lovely backyard/terrace, surrounded with a plantation of aromatic and medicinal herbs where the costumers may choose from the huge variety of them and have a tea or even watch the cookers catch some to include in the dish that is being cooked for them. It also have a cozy interior room. The Latada do Doutor also have self-made cakes , and takes pastri orders as well. A refugee for the city noise, and where the costumers can breath some fresh air.
Restaurant details
Description: The restaurant "Latada do Doutor" it's placed in the heart of the Funchal city. A place dedicated to the love of the well eating and drinking, with a lovely backyard/terrace, surrounded with a plantation of aromatic and medicinal herbs where the costumers may choose from the huge variety of them and have a tea or even watch the cookers catch some to include in the dish that is being cooked for them. It also have a cozy interior room. The Latada do Doutor also have self-made cakes , and takes pastri orders as well. A refugee for the city noise, and where the costumers can breath some fresh air.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is tucked away - behind the entrance to a medical clinic. We only can across it because we could see their outdoor covered area from our hotel room at Castanheiro Boutique Hotel and we intrigued -so glad we decided to try it out.
Once you go though the clinic corridor you go up to the restaurant area which is an oasis of greenery covered with vine leaves.
Really interesting small but perfectly formed menu delivered by someone who knows how to cook.
For starters my husband had the goats cheese pastry with their jam. I had the cheese on toasted bread. For mains I had the Penne com Camarão.(pasta with prawns) wow home made sauce giant prawns fantastic dish! Husband opted for the cod confit -gigantic portion just note it’s not filleted.
We washed our meal with 2 very nice bottles of wine.
The ambiance is lovely the staff super friendly and the portions huge. The quality of the food was gourmet but the prices were not - I think it came to around €80. Which to put in to context was less than we paid for a similar quality meal with just one bottle of wine at Tipografia
For something other than the standard tourist fare visit here!

Date of visit: September 2021
2  Thank KateJRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latada D, Diretor-Geral at Latada do Doutor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The Restaurant "LATADA DO DOCTOR" and all the team, thanks your excellent evaluation. Hope to see you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2021

Hidden gem! Absolutely amazing!
The best meal we’ve had in Madeira, food was amazing, presented beautifully, impeccable service…Pedro was friendly, accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Ricardo’s food - insane! Lovely evening and we’ll definitely be back :) thank you both. Pictures don’t do it justice even though the pictures are amazing. Becky & Steve

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank BeckiMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latada D, Diretor-Geral at Latada do Doutor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The Restaurant "LATADA DO DOCTOR" and all the team, thanks your excellent evaluation. Hope to see you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

This restaurant is quite hard to find, but totally worth it. The food is fab and service good. The setting is a courtyard with lots of plants. Really enjoyed it.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank AnnaGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latada D, Diretor-Geral at Latada do Doutor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

The Restaurant "LATADA DO DOCTOR" and all the team, thanks your excellent evaluation. Hope to see you soon. Best regards and happy holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

Do not miss out! This is an exceptional little hidden away gem. The tables are in a little courtyard. We ate the fillet with goat cheese and the octopus and bother were exceptional. This is a family establishment and every care is taken to make the experience fabulous. The food was amongst the best we have had in Madeira and at an excellent price.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank 882megf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latada D, Proprietário at Latada do Doutor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

The Restaurant "LATADA DO DOCTOR" and the whole team thanks you for your excellent evaluation. Hope to see you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2020

You wil not chance upton the restaurant it is hidden away in the centre of Funchal! Covid is hitting hard when we vistied in December 2020, very few customers which is such a shame. Food is delicious we had octopus and tuna, beautifully prepared in open kitchen. Service is polite , helpful and unobtrusive. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 123Fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latada D, Diretor-Geral at Latada do Doutor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

The restaurant "LATADA DO DOUTOR" and the whole team thanks you for your excellent evaluation. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Latada do Doutor also viewed

 

Been to Latada do Doutor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.