We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
239
160
33
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
160
33
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are large fantastic views stunning location central courtyard three nights small town sparkling wine middle ages breakfast room limited choice beautiful place to stay castle grounds wedding night min drive recommend staying here unique experience an extra night
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Perhaps with refurb and staff training this historic building could step up to the general Pousada experience. The restaurant staff were the only friendly responsive people in building. There was a general feeling of lethargy about the whole place.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank tamsin123937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Customer, I would like to thank you for your comments. We appreciate feedback from our guests as this is the only way to truly appreciate the needs of our guests and continuously improve the luxury service that we aim to offer. We took note of your comments and sincerely regret the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay with us. They were shared with the team for corrective action to be taken. Sincerely, Rita Ferreira The Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The Pousada has unbeatable views with Lisbon to the north and Setubal to the south.
Historic convent/castle building with true Pousada atmosphere. Excellent staff. Hotel let down by the quality of food served(group menu with limited choice for evening meals)
Unfortunately my wife was rushed to A&E and was unable to travel on to our next destination for 2 days. The staff were faultless in the way they showed concern and hospitality for us both

Room tip: Room 213 or Room 112 have excellent panoramic views
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AppianNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having shared your recent experience at Pousada Castelo de Palmela.
It is very rewarding to read your compliments regarding Pousada. Most of all, we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and your kind words are highly appreciated.
It will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards,
Rita Ferreira
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The hotel is located in Palmela's Castle, has a breathtaking view, the rooms are big and very comfortable, the staff is lovely and the restaurants around have good quality and are not expensive.
Overall, it was an amazing experience.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank BeaRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for having shared your recent experience at Pousada Castelo de Palmela. It is very rewarding to read your compliments regarding Pousada. Most of all, we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and your kind words are highly appreciated. It will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Rita Ferreira The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

This is a lovely place, well run and kept. The breakfast spread is fabulous. We stayed here the night before we had to fly home. The location to the airport in our rental car was perfect. It took us about 30 minutes on a Sunday morning to drive to the airport. Very easy. The property has huge rooms and amazing views.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dan5124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for having shared your recent experience at Pousada Castelo de Palmela. It is very rewarding to read your compliments regarding Pousada. Most of all, we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and your kind words are highly appreciated. It will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Rita Ferreira The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Great location but cost cutting by Pestana has reduced service and food quality to unacceptable levels. Management seems to be completely absent and staff have only limited remedies available to them. They tried hard and were empathetic to the hotels failings, but unable to correct failings.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Colin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide.

We have noted your feedbacks and we sincerely regret the inconvenience that it may caused you during your stay with us. I have personally convey to the concern department to look into this matter and it is only from comment such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services even more better.

Best Regards,

Rita Ferreira
The Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews