We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
821
171
34
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
821
171
34
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls honesty bar blue door cobbled streets castle area honor bar alfama district steep climb complimentary port sao jorge jorge castle beautiful hotel boutique hotel up hill small hotel we loved our stay port wine
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Great boutique hotel. Used to be the castle kitchens ( has it's own relic museum in the cellar). Loved the peacocks wandering around the grounds. Worth the money, very attentive staff. If you have any walking problem its situated at the highest point in the city so quite a hike from sea level.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Solar Do Castelo was everything we could have hoped for during our short stay in Lisbon. The location was perfect to explore the Alfama & Castelo district and to top it off we had peacocks outside our window.

Room Tip: Beautifully appointed room.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cathruth630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the castle. Despite our steep journey back each evening it was like returning to a place of calm. The hospitality was just right and we thank all the staff (and the peacocks)

Room Tip: Beautifully appointed room
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before flying back to Boston. It is the only hotel at the castle. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was quite beautiful. Our rate included breakfast which was nicely presented with good choices. The interior courtyard was quite relaxing. Would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mss289r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

My wife and and I stayed at Solar Do Castelo for three nights in mid February. We had a wonderful time and would very much recommend the hotel. The hotel is set in an old part of the city and we were glad to have taken a taxi (prebooked from the hotel) from the airport as otherwise it might have been a bit difficult to find it as it is up some narrow winding streets. However on the way back we just walked down the hill and took the metro! The hotel only offers breakfast but there are good places to eat near by. Breakfast itself was excellent with a wide range of food on offer. We loved our room which was stylish, clean, comfortable and had plenty of space for everything that we had taken with us - also loved the carafe of port in the room!
Although a little bit away from the city centre it's not too far to walk if you're reasonably fit and there are good tram links nearby. Staff were unobtrusive and helpful and the building itself is beautiful, very relaxing with a large communal lounge and patio. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews