We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled into a pleasant surprise”
Review of Beira Gare

Beira Gare
Ranked #801 of 5,173 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Reviewed 29 June 2018

It was raining in Lisbon and we ducked into this place not knowing it was recommendation in our guidebook (Rick Steves). We ordered their specialty the Bifana and we loved it. We also ordered Octopus in Rice and that was really good. You see a lot of locals hanging out there and while this might not be top-end Portuguese food, you can be assured that it is good enough - price and quality-wise - for your everyday Lisbon dweller. Prices are reasonable and the food is worth it.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thesmalltalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Cheaper place. Normale spartan service. Price low and food ok. To go Only in case good restaurtant aRe full

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank FabioFiato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We were in Lisbon ever so briefly as a cruise port/destination, and a friend said that Rick Steves recommended Beira Gare as an excellent place to eat like a local on the cheap.

Indeed! :D

We got the famous bifana - a pork sandwich - and I think it only cost about 3 Euros and change. We split it between two people and it was plenty. (Tip: try the mustard! It is a different flavor from what we get in the States, but not sure what ingredient(s) make it that way.)

We were also adventurous and got the salad do polvo - which made me laugh because the word for "octopus" in Portuguese (polvo) means "dust" or "powder" in my more-familiar Spanish! Either way, it was flavorful and fresh - the adults loved it, the teenagers/kids...eh, not so much but at least they tried it. :)

Our waiter was very patient and fluent in at least English, Spanish, and Portuguese, and even the locals seated by us said they loved seeing that we brought our kids (ages 11-19) to give it a try.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank exmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Came in for the bifana sandwich after hearing how great they are.

Last night, I had nice wine, cheese platter and seafood risotto at a fancy restaurant.
Tonight..bifana sandwich and Sagres! It was so delicious! This is a must when in Lisbon.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank allysantucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The best sardins in Lisbon! Deliciouse, served with salad and potatoes! Pleanty to eat! Have outside tables - much nicer than inside! Great, fast service. Friendly staff! Portions under 10 euros. On the boarder of the city center and downtown.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beira Gare also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Beira Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing