We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altis Avenida Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Balthazar(Lisbon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corpo Santo Lisbon(Lisbon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Britania Hotel(Lisbon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,475)
Filter reviews
1,475 results
Traveller rating
929
444
80
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
444
80
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantgreat locationtop floorrestauradores squaretrain stationcentral locationturn down servicedeluxe roomstar hotelthe heart of the citywonderful hotelbreakfast is servedhighly recommend this hotelcomfortable bedsevery eveninghotel staffwonderful city
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,475 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great property and attentive staff in a very good location.

We loved Lisbon and this property made the trip better.

They did not have a fitness center and the bar staff was slow.


We will recomend this property to others.
Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TJMdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo_Dinca, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive feedback and for letting us know how was your stay with us !

How glad we are to know that you have ennjoyed staying with us and that our staff has meet your expectations!

Looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel!

Warmest Regards,

Eduardo Dinca

Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

First time in Portugal. Flew to Lisbon. Took train to Algarve. 6 nights in Algarve exploring the coast and little villages. Then back to Lisbon for 3 nights. Used Altis Avenida as our base. Loved the location and the roof restaurant. Great service!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank peterjhinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo_Dinca, Gerente de relações com clientes at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for letting us know how was your stay with us!


How glad we are to know that you have enjoyed staying with us and that our staff has meet your expectations!

Looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel!

Warmest Regards,

Eduardo Dinca
guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Altis Avenida for 3 nights in early May. We looked at several hotels and finally decided on this one - we were not dissapointed. The location is spot on, central to everything with good restaurants, bars and transport links all in walking distance.

The hotel itself was lovely, we had a deluxe room with a balcony on the 6th floor. As other reviewers have mentioned the room was small, but this wasnt an issue for us. The room was well appointed, with nice decor and all the amenities you would expect from a 5*.

The rooftop terrace was a lovely place to sit and enjoy the fabulous view. Special shout out to Dercio in the lounge bar - his service was amazing and nothing was too much trouble!

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay in Lisbon and would not hesitate to book this hotel again if I were to return.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sc0t_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo_Dinca, Gerente de relações com clientes at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank yoy for your positive feedback and for letting us know how was your stay!

We will pass on your kind comments to Dercio!

Looking forward to welcome you in our hotel!

Warmest Regards,

Eduardo Dinca
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Perfect experience from beginning to end! Our’s was the highest corner room in the hotel (#605) and one of only two with a corner balcony - exactly what was committed to us when we booked months in advance. Hotel staff was plentiful and extremely helpful with check in and dinner & attraction recommendations.

View was amazing, and the location was centrally located for our interests of Lisbon. It is downhill so be prepared to walk some steep hills, although taxis and tuk-tuk are easily available.

Many restaurants and gift shops in the immediate area (including Hard Rock, McD’s and Burger King when American food is desired). Breskfast was good, make sure to ask housekeeping for new wash clothes and coffee if needed.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Blavincoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo_Dinca, Gerente de relações com clientes at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for letting us know how was your stay with us!

how glad we are to know that you have enjoyed staying with us and that you have enjoyed Portugal´s culture and that hour staff has meet you expectations!

Looking forward to welcome you !

Warmest Regards,

Eduardo Dinca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

You get what you pay for here. You can have a modest room overlooking a courtyard or a grand room with a balcony overlooking beautiful architecture across the street. Your rate can include lavish, unhurried buffet breakfasts (with omelets to your order) at the top-floor restaurant, with attentive service for your drinks delightful views in all directions, especially from the terrace on fine mornings. The staff is helpful and attentive. If you arrive exhausted, they'll notice and take good care of you.

Whatever level of room you select, you get the brilliant location - just behind the theatre at the north end of Praca Rossio, with a cab stand around the corner to whisk you anywhere you want to go. Public city transportation is also convenient, and the central train station is directly across the street in a beautiful classic building. The waterfront is a 20 minute leisurely stroll southeast through Rossio, and a boulevard with a tree-shaded median leads northwest past the historic Monumento dos Restauradores.

In the category of "words that being with 'restaur'," restaurants! Don't bother with the tourist traps interspersed among international chain retails stores you can find anywhere along Rossio and down Rua Aurea. Though if you need something from a drugstore, the pharmacist at the Farmacia Estacio at the NW corner of Praca Rossio fixed me up with some effective OTC meds for chest congestion and coughing (picked up some bug on our cruise). There's a honey-based spray to soothe sore throats! Who knew?!

Back to restaurants -- Do eat at just about any small restaurant in the Chaido sector, "next door" to the hotel to the west but up a steep hill. Take a cab, walk zig-zag steep streets, or climb the "endless" but frequently terraced zig-zag stairway (traverso) starting off the Rua do Crucifixo and ending at the Rua da Misericordia. There's outdoor seating at restaurants on every terrace so you can rest and refresh on the way up or down. Do NOT eat at any of restaurants immediately to the NE of the hotel on the maze of [read this with a sarcastic tone] "charming, narrow, cobblestoned streets" labelled "authentic Portuguese cuisine." Each restaurant's flacks will accost you like cheap hookers in Las Vegas as you walk by, and the souvenir shops in that district offer shoddy goods at high prices, swearing that they're "made authentically in Portugal." Don't bet on that in that area, no matter what the label says. Shop and eat "off main streets" but not where flacks try to entice you into their establishment. The Altis Avenida front desk staff can give you good suggestions.

Room Tip: Get the size room you need. All bathrooms are lovely, regardless. Get a balcony room only if you'll really use it.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo_Dinca, Gerente de relações com clientes at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for letting us know how was your stay with us!

how glad we are to know that you have enjoyed staying with us and that you have enjoyed Portugal´s culture and that hour staff has meet you expectations!

Looking forward to welcome you !

Warmest Regards,

Eduardo Dinca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews