We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,330)
Filter reviews
3,330 results
Traveller rating
333
931
916
548
602
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
931
916
548
602
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk along the beach cleaned every day cleaned daily great holiday large balcony
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 3,330 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

The hotel is very tired, not as fresh as surely once was.
We stayed at the end of May, weather could have been better but that's not the hotel's fault.
The room was good, cleaned daily, towels changed when required, if left on floor. The shower was probably the most powerful shower we have had in ANY of the holiday accommodations we have stayed in.
Food was very good, at least four different evening meals available per day. The restaurant was a bit crowded at times, it's a matter of working out when it's not.
The pool is busy, yes. But as for people walking around with bottles, I never saw it at all.
The hotel entertainment leaves a lot to be desired, overall, boring.
If you want a holiday to the Algarve, pay a bit extra and book the Auramar hotel, it's the sister hotel th the Monica Isabel and better facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xennon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

this hotel takes hen stag & birthday parties which makes the weekends not very nice for people wanting to have a relaxing holiday the language around the main pool was not nice the hotel has no security around at the pool while we were there there were youths walking around the pool with bottles of beer not very good for safety .As there no control on who gets into the pool areas we saw local families at the weekends helping themselves to the food in the snack bar now one checking wrist bands. These problems must be solved so the average holiday makers can have a relaxed holiday. Apart from the weekends we had a good time a great room good food & drink with very friendly staff

Room Tip: we were in M2 block top floor with a great view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
2  Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

This hotel was not advertised as On Tour oh my days.So many hen and stag parties.Rowdy and drunk around the pool,making it impossible to stay.Small kids and lots of senior citizens at this hotel.Ok if you are a mountain goat as lots of separate blocks dotted around the site all built on the hillside.So many health and safety issues mostly the cobbles were very loose and needed repairs badly, apartment accommodation needed a refurbished desperately still in the 80s.Uncomfortable beds too.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
3  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and we enjoyed most of it. We had an apartment and had an all inclusive package.
Pros
Great location to the beach and old town
Mostly clean (few minor bits in the bathroom such as cracked toilet seat
Restaurant food was hot and varied.
Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.
Reception staff very helpful and informative
Onsite shop which sold most things a holiday maker needs
We had a problem with our fire alarm one morning which we rang reception for. Within 2 minutes the maintenance man had arrived at the the door to fix the problem.
The size of the apartment was good. We had a bedroom, kitchen dinner, lounge area and bathroom. The balcony was a good size.

Cons
The hotel is quite spread out, so if someone has walking problems it maybe best to avoid this place. When shown to our room (taken in a golf cart which was quite fun) we didn’t get any information about the shortcuts back to the main hotel.
The safe had a cost of 3 euros a night, on top of a 25 Euro deposit which was refunded.
Some of the bar staff could be a bit rude.
The fire alarm would go off when we had a shower....see above for what the hotel did though.
The seating arrangement in the restaurant may not be to everyone’s taste. The main seating area had tables of 6 and 4. So sometimes we were sat on a table of 6 on our own, sometimes a couple or a family of four could sit on the same table.
The staff are so busy in the restaurant that it may take a bit of time to get a drink or plates removed.
As nice and clean as the apartment we had was, it could do with some updating.
No English channels on the tv (not a problem for us really as we took other things to do).
No information about what was included in the all inclusive bar. Some drinks (spirits and cocktails) were chargeable, but no price list was obvious.

We liked it here and enjoyed our stay. Some of the reviews about this resort are harsh. I read them before we come and was pleasantly surprised to see how wrong some of the reviews are. Make the decision for yourself.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mattrummin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel before we read the reviews and after reading some of the reviews, we were expecting the worst.
BUT we loved it. You get what you pay for is what I say and it is cheap and cheerful. It is basic but the service from the staff is second to none.
The reviews I read people were complaining about the food being repetitive but it was still nice. We only went for 4 nights so I thought the food was great.
I would definitely stay here again.
We were lucky as we were in the hotel part rather than the apartment blocks around it as it is more of a complex and not just a hotel.
Don’t be put off by the other reviews unless you are after pure luxury, then maybe it’s not for you. It maybe basic but the rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels. You’re provided with shampoo sachets and soap too even though we didn’t need the shampoo but still a nice touch.
Highly recommend the Monica Isabel

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
10  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews