We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive building in a beautiful part of Anterp with good food.”
Review of Backyard

Backyard
Reserve with
Backyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,660 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 March 2018

On a cold day in March we dropped into the "Backyard" for lunch. The food was excellent. I choose a local classic "stoofvlees met friet". This braised beef stew was the best I have tasted in years.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Luyksgestelkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Only place in the city where you can not enter with a dog! It is a nice place but the choice for another restaurant is easy made if you take in consideration that it is just a bistro. In all other restaurants, from bistro until the finest dining place in town, dogs and their owners are friendly welcomed while here you are chased away at the door.

2  Thank Grace Barca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, Owner at Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Sir,

Could you please tell us when you visited us, so we can find out exactly what went wrong when visiting our place.
We regret the fact you didn't get the best welcome, something that we always strive to give.

Please send us an email to info@backyard.be

Hope to welcome you soon @ our Backyard.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

I was looking for a nice and cozy place to have a simple but good dinner and Backyard was perfect! Have already been here 3 times since then and reconmend it to everyone. The service is great, the waiters are lovely and the food is delicious. Also a great place to have lunch. Definitely my new favourite spot in town.

Thank Magali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, Owner at Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Magali,

So good to read about this. Thanks a lot for the visits and recommendations.

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We visited on a quiet Sunday, but the team were very knowledgable about the menu and helpful (translating to English and explaining how dishes were served).tye. Urgent and beef stew were excellent and the drinks well prepared. It wasn't a budget meal (EUR60 for a 2 mains and drinks), but excellent quality.

Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, Manager at Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Jon,

Thanks for your compliments on the food, staff and quality. We are very pleased that you had a good time at Backyard.

Kind regards,

Team Backyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I really enjoyed my dinner here. We all had amazing burgers and delicious fries. Being Belgian its important the fries are good and they truly were! The Backyard Burger and Burger of the month were both delicious!

Thank ZarahVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier R, Manager at Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Zarah,

Thank you so much for your visit to Backyard. Good choice on the burgers and fries ;-)
We're happy that you had a good fries-experience, being in Belgium!

Thank you so much for this review and till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backyard also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing