We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a proper restaurant”

the Urker Fish Shop (de Urker Viswinkel)
Ranked #119 of 4,619 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: One stop shop for the Dutch fish experience, right in the centre of Amsterdam. Famous for our herring and kibbeling (Dutch-style fish and chips), but also other classics like smoked eel, smoked mackerel, shrimp, calamari and mussels, the Urker Fish Shop delivers the full range of traditional Dutch snacks in a local setting that you've never tried before. Perfect for lunch or a quick bite. Located close to the Anne Frank House, save yourself the fish cart experience and treat yourself to a freshly-cut herring among some Amsterdam natives. Directions: Standing with your back to the Anne Frank House, across the canal you should spot Cafe de Twee Zwaantjes or the Cheese Museum. Take a left after the cheese museum,, and then your first right to cross the canal again on a small bridge and walk past Cafe Sonneveld (restaurant with a red-and-white bannister). Store is on the right-hand corner.
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived at 2.00 p.m. and everything was finished. Got smoked mackerel and some salad which was ok, but the owner did say that they are not a restaurant and have a limited supply of fish and chips, etc. Be sure to go early if you really want to try.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Hypothetically S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, Owner at the Urker Fish Shop (de Urker Viswinkel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Hi there, traveller. Thanks for your response!

Apologies we weren't able to provide you with the service you had hoped. While we usually stock enough fish and chips to satisfy everybody our supplies couldn't keep up with the exceptionally busy day.

We'll be sure we keep up with demand more accordingly so everyone can get their fair share in the future!

Kind regards,
de Urker Viswinkel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Nice place to stop by in center for a bite of authentic Dutch food. Very friendly stuff. P.S. they take cash...MasterCard no Visa cards

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Marianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We had a bit of trouble finding this tiny corner fish & chips shop on a quiet street, but it was well worth it! The seasoned batter on the fresh fish was delicious! It was obvious the locals love it as well. Yes, large portions, and we ate every bite :)

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Star W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

I came here after reading all the nice reviews about it, and I must say it did not disappoint!!! Fresh sea-food, the herring, crab, tun etc. salats were really tasty, could see they were home made and all natural, the owner was really friendly. I got a mixed plate with seafood and fish and it was so huge I couldn’t eat more than half. They offered to pack it for takeaway, and I enjoyed it later after walking around Amsterdam. I recommend all fish and sea-food lovers to try it out!!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Oh my gosh, the brined haring (herring) was melt-in-your mouth goodness. Then we had some kibbeling (deep fried cod) that was flaky and delicious. We were intrigued, so we had a shot of tulip bulb vodka as a dessert. Nice and smooth!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the Urker Fish Shop (de Urker Viswinkel) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to the Urker Fish Shop (de Urker Viswinkel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing