We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lugano
from US$1,280.50
More Info
from US$68.20
More Info
from US$116.70
More Info
Reviews (3,157)
Filter reviews
3,157 results
Traveller rating
2,188
814
128
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,188
814
128
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride beautiful city surrounded by mountains day trip train station small town gelato swiss pass breathtaking views sunny day parco civico nice walk monte bre san salvatore lake switzerland restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 3,157 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Beautiful lake with mountains in the background. Great area to hub and spoke from. The village of Paradiso is on one side and that says it all!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Breath taking views, perfect for all who want to enjoy the hustle and bustle with the market and shops nearby but ideal for those also looking for nature and a bit of relaxation.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Chantelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Landscape is very amazing and interesting however airport is little far from city and if you are travelling with public transport then you may face difficulty to travel and purchase tickets.
The really interesting places to visit could be monte Bre, where you could take tram to up hill and the there is a very nice view of lake from terrace restaurants.
Another place worth visit is paco ciani a nice bog park to spend time, A fairy trip is worth to experience too.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank HammadTahirKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Lake Lugano is one of a kind, being half Swiss and half Italian is only one of it virtues. The lake is not round, it has several "fingers" hidden deep under the surrounding mountains and the views are breath taking. Food all around the lake is as good as it comes, you almost can't miss anyway you choose to go.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank adamgbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We were staying in the Lake Como area (which I do not recommend:crowded and expensive). To escape the craziness of Como, we hopped a train to Lugano (€20 pp). Best thing we could have done in the time we had.

Lugano is quiet and laid back. There are a good number of fairly priced restaurants and a plenty of places to shop. After lunch we walked to a place the locals call the “coca cola bar” because it’s all red. It’s a little shack of sorts on the shores of the lake and about a 10 min walk from the funicular drop off.

There we rented a motor boat (no special license required) for 65€ and rode around Lake Lugano looking at the houses and mountains. We even jumped into the Lake for a quick (and cold!) swim (in late June).

We loved the experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews