We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful fountain

Very nice fountain with beautiful artwork. There are so many different characters in the walls of... read more

Reviewed 3 December 2018
Nattysimps
,
Hamilton, Bermuda
Roman Fountain

Quite large Roman style fountain with sculptures situated on Piazza del Campo. Definitely worth a... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2018
BrisbaneBetty
,
Brisbane, Australia
via mobile
Read all 546 reviews
  
translated by Google
Recommended experiences in and around Siena
from US$75.04
More Info
from US$103.91
More Info
from US$66.96
More Info
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
178
233
123
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
233
123
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piazza del campo nice fountain public fountain brought water original pieces beautiful carvings carrara marble italian style main piazza large square people watch palazzo pubblico pigeons century beliefs wolves aqueduct
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

It was a stunning public fountain right at the top of the Campo. Beautiful carvings send cool drinking water spouts. Lovely steps to loiter on and people watch at the Campo.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank deepaktirthani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I am hesitant to give this 5 stars as I wouldn't go out of my way to see it. But there is 90% chance you will see it anyway as it is located in the main square, and there are no other monuments there so its very easy to spot.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank finallyretired391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

If you visit the museum del scala by the duomo you will see the original pieces dating back to the 1200's
Great photo opportunity as long as it is not too busy

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

An interesting fountain that is situated on the side of the central Piazza Il Campo. It is a point of interest for tourists. This fountain dates back to the early medieval period where it served as an end point of conduits that brought water to the city. The current fountain dates back to the 1800's. It is not a grand fountain and is a rectangular based adorned on both sides with bas reliefs. Still offers a good photo op.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Della G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We were walking along the Piazza trying to decide which restaurant to pick for dinner, which wasn't an easy choice at all, since all of them seemed to offer delicious dishes. This restaurant is at the far end of Piazza del Campo, which probably has something to do with the fact that when we walked to this restaurant to check the menu, it was the only empty restaurant in the Piazza. We found this curious, considering the menu, ambiance and decor looked very nice. We ended up going there precisely because it was empty, as we wanted to escape the tourist-packed restaurants and just have a nice quiet dinner. We were in for a real treat! The staff were amazing, the food was delicious, we went the full Italian style-dining (with antipasti, primi, secondi,...) plus a bottle of wine and a desert wine and despite all of that the price was much less than we'd expected. All in all, a great experience!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews