We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
461
194
24
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
194
24
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ristorante da great hotel main pool hotel restaurant is quiet hotel breakfast buffet is very pleasant stay cold meats nice pool large bathroom visit san gimignano private terrace dirt road wild boar short drive pools sergio
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Located just outside the town of San Gimignano this hotel offers excellent facilities and very friendly staff. We stayed for a week in June and looking back we wish we had stayed longer. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout, the rooms were well maintained and offered all the required services. The casual dining menu was perfect for light snacks during the day and we would highly recommend the adjacent restaurant, if you are in the mood for a treat. The two pools are fantastic, while the area around the smaller pool offers shade from the afternoon sun. There is a lovely walk from the hotel to the town, setting a brisk pace will work off some of the calories gained in the restaurant or take your time stroll and enjoy the views, it is well worth it. A great hotel which we have recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMIANH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Clients,
Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Sovestro hotel during your visit to San Gimignano and for having taken a few moments to share your experience.
It was a pleasure to read your review and to know that you fully enjoyed your stay here. I am also glad to learn you enjoyed our services and the two pools.
It is our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to make their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible. 

We look forward to you staying in our hotel on your next visit.

yours sincerely
Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I'm a little hesitant to write this review as we want to be sure there's room for us next time we visit! The Sovestro is a wonderful hotel run by Sergio and Lucia Failli and their daughters Alessia and Barbara, who looked after us extremely well and were always willing to go the extra mile to help. This was true quite literally when Alessia drove up to San Gimignano to "save" us with we found ourselves on the wrong bus. Special thanks also go to the hotel receptionists, Agnese and Laura who were always helpful and willing to give advice. The hotel is set in a beautiful part of Tuscany, a short distance from the charming town of San Gimignano. Our room was more than adequate and very well maintained. We were poolside on the ground floor and had a small terrace with a table and chairs overlooking the pool. The only small downside is that we found the bed quite hard, but this was not unusual in relation to virtually all the hotels in which we stayed in Italy. The breakfasts were lovely (particularly nice pastries) and included in our tariff. Just make sure you ask for eggs as they are not automatically offered. The hotel restaurant is excellent, but if you like variety there are a number of very good choices in San Gimignano itself. This place is a real gem and we felt like we were coming home after each day on the road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the poolside are away from the road and a little quieter. However, the countryside view is magnificent from the road side.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Mr John,
we don't know where to start to thank you for such a beautiful review following your stay in our hotel.
We were honoured to have welcomed you in San Gimignano!

Each member of our family, Sergio, Lucia, Alessia and Barbara was happy to be of assistance and is very much grateful for your compliments.!
Also in regards to Agnese and Laura at the reception desk and all the staff, they want to thank you for appreciating their service.

It is our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to make their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible. 


Useless to say that we look forward to to greeting you again, hoping that the future gives you the opportunity to travel to San Gimignano!

yours sincerely
Family Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel grounds are gorgeous but I think that being in Tuscany that’s not very hard to achieve. The accommodations are below average. Our room looked fine at first but smelled a bit like the last person who stayed there smoked in it. The bed is also lumpy and hard, the bedding is rough and just not comfy. My husband and I hardly slept because. Of how uncomfortable the bed is. Our hot water didn’t work in our shower. When they made our room they didn’t take away the iron and board they had brought in and also left cups off coffee that had been sitting out. The breakfast buffet is not worth the 6 euro for what you get.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Road103711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Customers,
thank you for having written your review about your stay in our hotel
I was disappointed to hear that you had some issues with your room and that our buffet breakfast was not satisfactory for you!

We take feedback such as yours and use it as learning tool so we can improve our service and do our job at best!

Please accept our apologies if your stay was not as good as expected.

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely family run hotel at short notice following a problem with a villa we had booked. They could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. All staff super. Hotel clean and very well maintained. Restaurant served very good food. A great stay which helped turn a holiday disaster into a very pleasant and relaxing trip.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TMM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Clients,
thank you so much for having writte this beautiful review!!
We are all very pleased that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We were very happy to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you,

yours sincerely
family Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Sovestro for 3 nights, originally booked for only two but they were happy to accommodate when we asked to arrive a day earlier.

Hotel room was clean and simple and suited us for what we wanted - wifi worked most of the time (although it doesn't work poolside unfortunately) and the air conditioning was fine if not a little noisy when turned up.

Staff very friendly and helpful with all of our (many!) questions and the pool is fantastic - clean and the perfect place to unwind after sightseeing. A real bonus that makes the hotel such a good place to stay. Restaurant next door is also excellent.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tj228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Customers,
thank you very much for your beautiful review!!
we are pleased that you appreciated our services and that you had a nice stay in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews