We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vio.com
Trip.com
Official Site
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,720)
Filter reviews
1,720 results
Traveller rating
1,141
450
97
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,141
450
97
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large grounds huge garden the hotel staff swimming pool hotel restaurant beautiful hotel nice pool the ground floor nice breakfast minute drive pasta tuscany terrace countryside wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,720 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2022

We stayed with you in September at the end of our trip to Italy. we stayed for 2 nights.
The front desk staff, was professional, outgoing and such wonderful friendly people. They went above and beyond to help us find a cab to get back to the train station. Once again thank you! the breakfast in the moring was delicious and so many choices. A perfect way to start our day! We had dinner in the restuarant both nights, the first night was Steak florentine, the meal was delicious, the waiter lacked any table side personality! The second night the waitress were engaging and delightful, but the food was tasteless and even the desserts lacked, even in presentation from the night before. We could tell a different chef lol. The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are wonderful. Thanks for having us.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank melissai616
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elisa Niccolini, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2022

Dear melissai616,
Thank you very much for choosing us, for writing to us and for sharing his impressions.
We care a lot about the satisfaction of our Guests, this being one of our biggest goals.
For this we will take into great consideration what you have indicated trying to do our best to improve.
A special thanks for the nice words you have spent for our Staff: we believe in People who can make a difference and we really think they are an added value!
With the hope of welcoming you to the beautiful San Gimignano,
Best regards from the Niccolini family and the staff of the Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2022 via mobile

Excellent hotel with great food and friendly staff. Close to all wineries and cities of interest including Florence, Siena, Lucca. Rooms were spacious. Washrooms were clean and spacious. Restaurant was great. Good choice of food and prepared to impress

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tonymarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elisa Niccolini, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Dear tonymarra,
we are so happy to read these words of yours.
Thank you for sharing such a feedback and for being a lovely Guest!
We cannot wait to welcome you back
Best regards
the Staff of Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse and Nicolini Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2022 via mobile

Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is magnificent, along with the ‘bruschetta bar’ poolside. Easy drive (~5 min) to San Gimignano. The perfect place to stay, would definitely recommend to couples, families, or anyone travelling through Tuscany.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elisa Niccolini, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

Dear Jonathan,
thank you very much for your feedback!
This means so much to us all.
We really hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
the Staff of Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse and Niccolini Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2022

Nice place to stay. Close to San Gimignano. Rooms were a bit dated. Shower stall for handicap person was absolutely no good. Water kept flowing on the floor making it slippery. Breakfast good but not nearly as good as what we received in Switzerland. Eggs were in a big pan not served individually. But for those who like it I guess that's OK. Property very well kept and the people running the facility were incredibly nice people. Have to drive 30+ minutes to really see Tuscany because this facility really is on the edge not in the center. Don't wanna make it seem that I don't like the facility. I do. But it had more of a motel like feeling than a hotel. I would go again because the cost was reasonable, about €140 per night. San Gimignano had a little in a way of accommodating a person with a walker. While it is free to get in, someone in this situation would not be able to navigate and see the facility for what it is. And it is beautiful. All in all it's a nice little facility to stay especially for the amount of money that it cost to stay there.

Room tip: If you're looking for an inexpensive place to say that's close to the main attraction, this is it. You'll enjoy this stay.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rbritting
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elisa Niccolini, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Dear rbritting,
we would like to sincerely thank you for spending your time in writing to and about us.
Please allow us to underline how important is for us a good critic: this is surely a way to improve ourselves in providing a special service to our Guests.
Thank you for mentioning our careful Staff as well.
With this being said, we would also like to explain a few points.
We are actually proud of our location: 7 kilometers far from the city center is a good opportunity to avoid the critical noises, traffic and lack of parking that you might find somewhere else.
Concerning breakfast, our main aim is to guarantee our Guests healthy and local products, but ,as you said, it may also depend on personal taste.
Finally, San Gimignano is a famous UNESCO heritage site and like many other historical places around the world, it is possible to encouneter a few issues while visiting here and there.
But, we are glad to inform you that we had the chance to see how possible it is a walk in the town indeed.
Best regards
from the Staff of Hotel Casolar Terre Rosse and Niccolini Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2022 via mobile

Great hotel !! Amazing location .. the garden rooms are superb and quit .. quality of staff is super !!! We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was outstanding !! 10 from 10 !!
Break fast is also very good quality minimal but excellent .. we will be back ! Highly recommend !

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ronnyroup8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elisa Niccolini, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2022

Dearest Ronny,

You wrote something that is priceless to us.

We cannot thank you enough for such beautiful words and for sharing
with us your personal thoughts.

This really motivates us and rewards the work we carry out with
passion every day.

We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards from the Staff of Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse and Niccolini Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews