We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,451)
Filter reviews
1,451 results
Traveller rating
935
405
83
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
405
83
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large grounds the hotel staff very nice hotel reception desk enjoyed our stay hotel restaurant the ground floor visiting san gimignano nice pool a lovely stay min drive olive trees beautiful property pasta wonderful place day trip wine tasting
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,451 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

If your looking for a quiet under the Tuscan Sun then look no further then Hotel Casolare. My 4th stay over 6 years and they still remember us. Personal attention is where they excel. Helping with small language challenges to calling us a doctor when my wife was sick they were amazing. Nestled in between wine vineyards the hotel is spacous compared to the average Italian rooms. Breakfast is included and the hotel serves amazing dinners in an intimate underground grotto.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.
We were delighted that you chose us again and enjoyed your stay!
Thank you for your compliments for the staff.We are always at our guests’ disposal and we are very happy to have been able to help you.

We are very much look forward to welcoming you back soon again!

Kindest Regards

Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile


We visited mid September. The hotel is 8 minutes drive to San Gimignano and they have a free shuttle which drops you off and picks you up at S G three times a day. You have to reserve it and it is very easy informal reservation to the front desk. So helpful! Hotel caters to international clientele (met very few Italian guests!) and is animal friendly they also have two cute and polite kitties who hang out in the lobby
The whole structure is huge and super clean extremely relaxing with lots of space to spread out and very well decorated.Huge parking lot so no problem parking your car at all, beautiful spotless pool and park where you can find your perfect spot and spread out. Right outside the structure by walking distance there is a winery where you can do tastings and buy their wines.

Breakfast has lots of variety with sweet and savory items, jam, tarts, apple loaf, chocolate loaf, mini donuts, croissants, cereals, yogurt fresh fruits, cured meats, cheeses, fresh Tuscan bread, pancakes, fresh tomatoes, cheese, bruschetta, mini sandwiches and more!I read complaints about coffee??? Why??The coffee is dispensed through an automatic machine with fresh milk and freshly grounded coffee beans and I found it to be very good.
A shout out to the whole staff, extremely nice especially the people at the restaurant; Raffaella was very sweet polite and always with a smile. Also front desk girls and manager very courteous and professional thank you very much for being always very kind and prompt.
We had deluxe room which was very comfortable and big with a wardrobe, a desk and bath with shower always very clean. Two small flights up no elevator for this room so plan accordingly; I saw an elevator on the other aisle of the structure so keep that in mind.

We dine several times at the restaurant,it is good food in line with the category of the hotel but I was not particularly impressed by any dish . It is catered to meat lovers there is a lot of meat dishes. Dinner is served outside when the weather allows otherwise in a very elegant tasteful room downstairs. The menu doesn’t change but each day is a dish of the day. We had a very good time at Terre Rosse and all the people working there were outstanding! We will be back for sure Thanks

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Riri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you a lot for your detailed review and for being a very appreciated guests.

We are glad that you have appreciated your stay in hotel: we always pay attention to the satisfaction of the guests and knowing that we have achieved the goal make us satisfied.

We await your return with pleasure.

Best Regards,
Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

This hotel is close to many different hill towns, and is a good central location for day trips. Shuttle to San Gimignano is a major asset. The rooms are kind of plain but the grounds are beautiful--like a park, with lots of lounge chairs scattered about. Breakfast was great, and the restaurant for dinner was, although somewhat limited, very good also. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for the review.

We are glad that you have appreciated our service of shuttle bus to San Gimignano, we consider important to make your vacation relaxing and for this reason we offer this free service in the hours when it is difficult to find parking in the city.

Best Regards,
Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

This is a charming hotel but the rooms we had was a little tired and dated especially the shower room.
Excellent breakfast which is taken on an attractive terrace overlooking the pool and extensive, park like grounds.
It’s a good location if you’re touring round - plenty of car parking space

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve and Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for the review.

At breakfast we serve fresh milk and coffee grinded at the moment with salty and sweets dishes. Then you can sit at the veranda drinking your coffee or you can relax reading a book under the trees in the huge park or walking throu it.

Best Regards,
Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel located in its own beautiful oasis. The service at the reception is excellent, we were greeted with a tour of the facilities and they arranged a taxi + wine tasing at a nearby winery for us, wich was amazing. The restaurant is also really nice, good food , nice terrace and great service. Would recommend,, would go back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gab362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Thank you for the nice review and for being our guests.

We are glad that you have appreciated your stay in our hotel and restaurant. We pay much attention to offer the best quality food with fresh food, bought also from local farms.

We look forward to have you as our guests again.

Best Regards,
Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews