We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
548
284
62
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
284
62
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel your luggage ancient building within the walls hotel is located quiet room third floor perfect location park the car restaurant recommendations loved this hotel top floor san g town walls tour buses beautiful town breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 913 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at Hotel L’Antico Pozzo in May. The hotel is in the Main Street of the medieval city , which is the centre city , so great location. The room was big and bed comfortable, breakfast was good.
The only minor drawback was we found the hotel difficult to find as we arrived by car and being a Medieval city it’s has restricted car access. Clear parking directions from the hotel would have made the arrival more pleasant. Overall a good place to stay in San Gimignano !!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kimcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele M, Proprietario at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Kimcahill,
thank you very much for sharing your lovely review, we are delighted that you have enjoyed the great location of L'Antico Pozzo to enjoy the magic of San Gimignano and it is a pleasure to know you have appreciated the comfort of your room and the quality of our buffet breakfast.
All our guests are allowed to drive to the front of the hotel to unload their baggage anytime however, the Municipality of San Gimignano regulates the road signs in the historical center in a rather restrictive way, in order to preserve the integrity and atmosphere of the place.
A good help is to view our useful videos available on our official website as well as on youtube by searching "l'antico pozzo driving".
Good news is that Google Maps provides now the correct route to arrive at the hotel by entering our address. Unfortunately, other GPS navigators are not updated and provide incorrect paths.
Thank you again for recommending L'Antico Pozzo for a pleasant stay in San Gimignano, it has been lovely to meet you and we all look forward to your next visit!
Best regards
Emanuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

My husband and I stayed here last week for 2 nights. It's located within the walled city, in the middle of a street full of tourists, and yet it was so nice and quiet in our room (we were on the 3rd floor facing their patio). I booked a triple room even though there were just the 2 of us so we could have more space. We had a car which we had to park outside the city walls since parking inside isn't allowed, but we were able to drive to the hotel to drop off our luggage. It could have been confusing to find the hotel and then the parking lot, but there are a couple of great videos on the hotel website which made the whole process very easy - make sure you watch both videos if you have a car! The breakfast could have used more options, and would have been better if they had hard boiled the eggs rather than leave them for the guests to cook in the electric egg-cooker (it just took too long since you had to wait for the gadget to free up as other guests were using it). But overall it's a nice place to stay and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele M, Owner at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you very much for choosing L 'Antico Pozzo for your stay in San Gimignano and recommending us to the other travelers.
So pleased that you enjoyed being with us and thank you for reporting the helpfulness and friendless of our staff as well as recommending our useful videos.
We have taken good note of your feedback and thank you for any further suggestion you would send us to help improve our service.
The electric egg-cooker can cook 6 eggs simultaneously and we regret if you had to wait.
We used to provide fried and boiled eggs however , while keeping to provide the first ones, we have decided to give our guests the opportunity to enjoy a freshly boiled egg.
It has been a pleasure to have you as guest and look forward to see you soon at L'Antico Pozzo.
Best regards
Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We recently spent four wonderful nights at this charming hotel! San Gimignano is a really amazing small walled town in Tuscany and this hotel is right on the main "road" in the center of the town. It seems that cars are only allowed to drive to a destination and then back out again, so it is very quiet. The beds were comfortable, the rooms cozy and the staff is really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice too! I loved being able to sleep with the window open and hear the birds in the morning.

Room Tip: I think the upper level rooms in the back are quieter and have a lovely view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele M, Proprietario at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear Lisa C
thank you very much for your fantastic review of Hotel L'Antico Pozzo!
We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for mentioning
the comfort of your room and friendly atmosphere during your stay
We hope to get back soon the pleasure to have you with us again

Best regards
Emanuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for just one night but it was incredible. The hotel is in a restored historic building just inside one of the town gates. The room was luxurious, spacious and so comfortable. It is a very charming hotel with a classic touch. The breakfast was terrific, beyond the typical continental selection that you would find in Tuscany. The location is perfect, being two minutes to the bus stop and two minutes to the world's best gelateria! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solo Man S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele M, Proprietario at Hotel L'Antico Pozzo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of L'Antico Pozzo! We are thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations during your stay and receive your appreciation for the comfort of your room and the quality of our buffet.
We thank you for being our guest and look forward to see you again soon on your next vacation to San Gimignano!
Best regards
Emanuele Marro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The hotel has lots of charm, rooms include a blend between historic and modern; we were given the choice between one with a view and one with mural paintings. Room sizes vary a lot. Breakfast is good for Italian standards, but nothing outstanding. Don't forget to visit the cellar area including the old well. San Gimingano is full of tourists during the day, but very charming and calm during the nights and early mornings, and L'Antico Pozzo is the right base to explore during these times. Good restaurants near-by.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank metalminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews