We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Ristorante Locanda La Mandragola
Ranked #28 of 135 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right in the center of the special athmosphere of San Gimignano lies this truly excellent restaurant. We sat outside in the end of September, there are heathers but this evening we had no need.
Attentive service, and some of the best food we had in Tuscany. Excellent work by the chef, giving the dishes something special.
Good recommendations for wine, at decent prices too.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ToneLill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2018

The terrace is a great place to eat but when we went it was a bit cool and inside it was full, I suggest booking the table in advance. The restaurant was full and the service slow, we have to continually call the waiters. On the other hand, the food was very good and compensates for the service. The main courses of meat and game are really delicious and also the house wine was of good quality like the rest of the wine list. Overall satisfaction was good !

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank morgansbabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Delicious food - my favourite is the cockerel (spatchcock chicken). Great garedn setting very popular restaurant (you need to book most nights) International clientele. We sat next to a delightful Brazilian couple. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We came across this hidden gem by accident. Delightful outdoor dining in afternoon sun ( with shade). We shared a cheese bake not quite a soufflé but with pear sauce starter. Delicious. then I had the artichoke and truffle shaving pasta. Cooked to perfection. Good choice of half bottles of wine.

A real find with friendly staff

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

We were just exploring the neighborhood and by chance walked past this restaurant and decided to try it. We walked up the stairs not knowing what to expect and there was a beautiful courtyard. The food was amazing. I think it was one of the best meals on our 3 week trip.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Locanda La Mandragola also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Locanda La Mandragola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing