We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
233
203
163
105
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
203
163
105
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leaning tower rooms are small quiet street location is excellent minute walk train station beam fabio florence taxi bathrobes cheese sights piazza
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

OK its a hot summer but this hotel's aircon could not keep up with mild heat. Many guests compalining. Unable to sleep. Uncomfortable rooms and beds and the lack of aircon made it all worse. Even the breakfast location was steaming hot at 08.30 hrs. This is a 2 Star venue - at max. Staff really tried and I felt sorry for them but having to move rooms after a first night of hell and then being tired for the next 24 hours is not a holiday. Complimentary drinks (from their great barman Davida) unfortunately did not compensate. Leaking toilets and showers. Needs total renovation. Sorry but never again.

Room Tip: so many guests complained I dont think there are any
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WallaceBluemonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

I don't even know where to start with this hotel. Unfortunately I don't agree with the 5 star rating, whoever awarded this must have been drunk or bribed, I have stayed in much better 3 star hotels. To begin with the 'character' of the hotel was somewhat charming until you look closer and realise that its actually just severely run down, actually quite dangerous and in need of basic maintenance and repair (There were so many health and safety violations in this hotel I Lost count.. exposed electrics, loose fittings in the bathroom, rugs every other step with NO slip protective underlay...)

The best part of the hotel was probably the breakfast service (not the food or the variety...or lack of food choice) but the actual serving staff, they were pleasant and seemed to genuinely aim to please although the resources they had to work with were lacking... no proper coffee machine, an out of action toaster. The nail in the coffin however, was the shocking customer service we received upon checking out of the hotel. I won't go into specifics but I would suggest that some of the reception staff require at least rudimentary training in hospitality and customer service. Fawlty Towers without the humour comes to mind. Proceed with caution.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bonzai360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel is supposedly a 5* but frankly deserves a 1* rating. A first class photographer was certainly involved as the pictures shown on the site are very good but do not correspond to reality. The only good point is location as it is a short walk from Pisa tower. Me and my husband stayed in a “junior suite” which turned out to be very small, the “decoration” was really tired and dated, the carpets and chairs were stained and the bathroom had seen better days. Nobody helped us with our luggage which frankly is a first for us in a (so called, in this case) 5* hotel. There were only two members of staff working that evening! (16 June 2018) the A/C’s temperature could not be adjusted in the bedroom and when we asked to be assisted the person who was working at the bar came up to try and help but it was obvious he did not know what to do. Let it be said he was very friendly and tried his best to help (to no avail) It turns out the A/C is controlled at reception and they cannot change the temperature in the individual bedrooms (!) all they can do is turn it on or off! Breakfast was poor. Sadly, I did not read the trip advisor reviews before booking otherwise I would not have consider staying here. It seems the majority of guests have had as terrible an experience as ourselves. Strongly recommend others NOT to stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank eurydice2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

As you do, checked the write ups and reviews only in this instance believed the write up from Booking.Com, mistake!
Book in to check out was 3 hours, we could stand no more.
Lesson learnt, no more Hotel Relais dell’Orologio and definitely no more bookings via Booking.com.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank orrandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniGDir, Direttore at Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

It is not very clear, but we will try to use your observations anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Positives:
Excellent location. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, crisp, white sheets and pillow cases. Very comfortable bed. Pleasant garden. Air conditioning. Welcome glass of Prosecco. Soft drinks in fridge in room.

Negatives:
Tired decor. Broken fittings: a wall light coming away from the wall in bedroom, sink coming away from wall in ensuite, broken stair rod causing loose and dangerous carpet on stairs. Dirty headboard on bed. Black mold in shower corners. Dirty, worn rugs in bedroom and elsewhere in hotel, dirty stair carpets. Noisy aircon. Some food looking stale at breakfast buffet (although most items ok). Dirty parasols in the garden.

Overall, great location but photos online are blatantly very old as the decor is looking very tired. Needs renovating, cleaning up and repairing. Not a five star hotel. Very comfortable bed and good soundproofing from the street with both sets of shutters and window closed. Breakfast passable but below expectations. Wouldn't stay again as not good value for money.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank JonathanM6354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniGDir, Direttore at Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Mr. Jonathan M. we thank you for your time. The new Management will use your review to try to improve as much as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews