We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was average, staff was friendly though”

Nishiki Koi Sushi & Fusion
Ranked #16 of 1,056 Restaurants in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$46
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

My friend and I wanted to have some Japanese food instead of Italian food after so many days in Italy. We found this restaurant in Pisa with good reviews and so we wanted to try it out. We didn't have a reservation but we could sit and eat for 1.5 hour. Good enough, as we didn't plan to dine too long.
I ordered a ramen soup. The soup base was not much flavour and ramen was literally more like spaghetti. I asked for gyoza but they said they didn't have. It turned out they called it wonton/dumpling. Found it a bit strange that they didn't know what gyoza is in a Japanese restaurant. The shrimps tempura was ok. The shrimps tasted a little bit mushy. The salmon sashimi was fresh though. The chicken skewers we had were ok too. The staff was overall friendly. Food wise it was a little bit of a disappointment. If you do not have high standards of Japanese food it is an ok restaurant to eat here.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jentylau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent food but the restaurant lacked a little atmosphere.
If you are not a regular sushi eater it would help if there was some visual guidance.
We worked out what dishes were what with the help of google. I know I know but we have always had other people order for us.
The food was truly excellent, the presentation was good and the service attentive and understanding.
I can’t tell you all of what we had but have attached a picture of a couple of dishes.
Worth a visit.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

They have great quality food and the menu has a lot of choices
Not super expensive but we pay for the quality we eat

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We came based on the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed, this sushi was very fresh and so delicious.
Our favourite was the gamberi tempura with the cooked salmon on the outside (uramaki).
We went early so the service was great but as the evening went on, the service did slow due to this place being so popular and busy, I would recommend going early to avoid disappointment.
Price was acceptable for what we got, I see they have a great pranzo (lunch) option which we will be trying for sure.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I love asian food and Japanese happens to be my favorite. I lived and travelled in Asia for years so I have tried all types of Japanese dishes everywhere. I just told my husband that whenever I travel, if I cannot find a restaurant that seems okay, I always go for Japanese food.
After seeing the reviews on here we decided to try this restaurant. BEST DECISION EVER in Pisa. The food was flipping delicious, the staff was friendly and the place was calm, not too crowded. I cannot eat in crowded restaurants because they stress me out.
We took a wild guess when ordering because the menu was in Italian and somehow Google translate would give us the lousiest translations ever.
Overall, if one is into Japanese food and desperately looking for a calm, non touristy restaurant with friendly staff, Nishiki Koi Sushi & Fusion is the place to go :-)

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nishiki Koi Sushi & Fusion also viewed

 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Nishiki Koi Sushi & Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing