We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Roman walls with Medieval additions

Three towers were added during the Medieval period and it was a strong fortification system up... read more

Reviewed 18 October 2018
on_the_go_98765
,
Tucson
Interesting and Historic Fort in Livorno

I was in Florence on business and had a day off. A colleague and I traveled to Livorno and we... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2018
David M
,
Brandon, FL
Read all 201 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Livorno
from US$130.77
More Info
from US$69.23
More Info
from US$108.45
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
50
88
48
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
88
48
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old port protected medieval tower history
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

This is the old fort at the port. Interesting enough to look around but we didn't spend a lot of time here. The new fort is also open in town.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank knucklebusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

This, the old fort, protected the port for many, many years. It is a most impressive construction, and well worth a visit.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Very attractive old fort located close to the port, we had a nice gentle stroll early evening, good fresh air and not crowded with tourists, a really relaxing time

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

It was a cloudy day in april, so we had the caste for our own. That way we could roam the fortress, trying which doors and passages were open. Have a look in old, partly demolished tunnels, relive history in the caves ans basements. And of course, climb the tower and enjoy the view of city and harbour.
The entrace on the back side (sea) was hard to find. They should make more of it! since the fortress and the info of its history was worthwhile. For both kids and parents

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank mkbho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Between the destroyed walls of the fortress it's difficult to imagine the past splendour of Livorno Port during Renaissance. Anyway, there're some interesting halls on the basements.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank 58_scarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews