We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
53
133
170
78
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
133
170
78
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boiled eggs quattro mori small room busy road decent hotel within walking distance free wifi yogurt train station granduca statue harbour luca sardinia pisa
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Very nice hotel, helpful staff! Great room upper floor with skylight, you can fall asleep under the star and wake up to a beautiful blue sunny ski. Good breakfast! Price was fair, I think we got what we paid for! Parking in front of hotel. Easy walk to restaurants.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Marquita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgdlivorno, Direttore generale at Hotel Gran Duca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear Marquita,
first of all many thanks for your kind opinion, so important for us!
We are delighted that you have appreciated your stay here at gran Duca,
everyday we try to give the best for our custiomers in order to make them feel like at Home.
We wish to welcome you again here soon at Gran Duca,!!!
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We went for a 2-week mission and stayed in this hotel. Spotless, always clean.

Staff is very cordial. Room is small, although ok. Space for shower is minimum. Bed so so, not bad. Pillows were terrible.

It is a very old hotel but as I said spotless. Served the purpose. The restaurant is so good... will write a separate review.

In the hotel lobby it's impossible to work. They don't have a location for you to sit and conduct business or even browse your computer. Couches are old, ugly and uncomfortable.

Bar is completely down, although the city is a ghost city; there is not a lot going on.

To park outside plenty of space. Need authorisation and the hotel issue one.

Hint: as almost every hotel is Italy, there is an adjunct parking which is very narrow. Better not to try to go there. My friend with a Land Hover hit one wheel. The thing is that in the middle of the passage there is one step of a staircase, made of concrete, which is taking a piece of the car passage and it's impossible to see / maneuver.

No fitness, no nothing. Straight, just the bedroom and very nice restaurant.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the port, that's all.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Schegerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgdlivorno, Direttore generale at Hotel Gran Duca, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Guest,
First of all, many thanks for leaving us your feedback.
Every opinion is for us extremely important in order to improve the quality of our services.
We are really sorry for the inconvieniences you've experienced during your Stay, especially for what it concernes the pillows and the othere facilitues taht can be changed simply calling at the Reception.Our Staff is Always helpful as our first aim is the home of making the guest feel like at Home.
We hope therefore to welcome you here again at the gran Duca Hotel!
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We spend 4 days in Livorno. The city isn't very exiting, but the hotel is well located next to the shopping street, the harbour and a lot of nice restaurants and bars.
The hotel lobby is beautifully and old-fashioned, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our room was-let's say ok. It was clean, very dark and really nothing special, and it's not worth 4 stars! The room service was knocking every half hour at the door (we forgot to put out the not-disturb-sign) and the noise from the street didn't let us sleep.
The food at the hotel restaurant was delicious. Here I ate the best beef carpacio ever!
I would not recommend this hotel for a long time stay- but if you want to spend one night, it's quite ok.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived late without a reservation and the hotel reception manager called Luca was very helpful, Luca also upgraded our room at no extra cost to a balcony room on the second floor with an ocean view. Very quiet room and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Large balcony room with ocean views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Animalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The reception staff greeted us very warmly and was most helpful.
The room was a single at the back of the hotel which was noisy especially early in the morning, the bar was not the best and certainly not the cheapest, breakfast was adequate I suppose.
The bathroom floor is like ice when wet so beware.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews