We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
289
214
104
70
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
214
104
70
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool sea view junior suite fabulous hotel sea front beautiful room large bed welcome gift fleetway travel week stay grand old lady long weekend food was fine old school staff service deep bathtub great cocktails
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Being an Accor member this place was a total embarrassment from other Accor hotels I’ve stayed at. 3 star at its best. Definitely not a 5 star! We rented 2 rooms for 4 adults.

Rooms and interior look tired with peeling wardrobes and mouldy bathrooms. Bed was comfortable but attention to detail poor - pillows not organised and duvet not tucked in etc. Toiletries also missing one day.

Staff were uptight and running around like headless chickens at breakfast time. Hot water not hot, eggs cold and same boring repetitive breakfast with poor quality breads and cold cuts (Tuscany is known for its food so why not start at a ‘5 star’ hotel??). Staff here need training big time. Not once was our plates cleared. Ordering dinner was a mess with food being average (nice view of ocean though).

Overall this place has potential but needs a lot of work. Wouldn’t recommend.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank ManiG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneD3, Direttore at Grand Hotel Palazzo – MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Hotel Palazzo Livorno - MGallery by Sofitel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards.

Fabio Cannucci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We stayed at the Palazzo in mid-September for a 4 night short break to catch a bit of sun and see some of Tuscany's seaside. We traveled on a very low cost package with Fleetway Travel, the second time we've used them for booking a short break. Exceptional value for money - given that it included a stay at this Palace type hotel. Yes, its true that in some ways its a bit dated but actually the room (3rd floor so lower ceilings) was very comfortable, recently re-decorated and looked out over the sea. Nothing to complain about at all. We spent a lot of time on the roof terrace which was nice but a bit too cramped for the size of the hotel. The only local alternative would have been the concrete sunbathing pool and jetty by the sea where you have to pay quite a lot for a sunbed for the day. We ate once in the restaurant and it was absolutely fine, if a bit expensive. We would recommend the restaurants in Livorno's 'Little Venice' instead where you can sit out by the canals and get a perfectly decent Italian dinner for a lot less. Also recommend spending a day in Lucca (if you have a car).

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are cheaper and have low ceilings. Rooms lower down have very high ceilings
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeReviewer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneD3, Direttore at Grand Hotel Palazzo – MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Guest,
thanks so much for your nice review. It has been a great pleasure to have you as a Guest in our hotel and we are glad to know that your stay was fine and that you appreciated our amenities. e hope and are looking forward have you again stayng in our hotel.

Best regards.

Fabio Cannucci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

My husband and I spent 3 days at this wonderful hotel. Our room was very large and opened to the sea with a private terrace. The included breakfast had a great variety of food to please most anyone. The roof top restaurant was a highlight. It overlooks the sea and is very romantic with a full menu including pasta and great seafood, of course Tuscan steak, and a fine wine selection. The service was polite and professional. Just a great stay. Oh, I forgot, a great bed.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing the sea with a private terrace
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank godschild333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneD3, Direttore at Grand Hotel Palazzo – MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Guest,
thanks so much for your nice review. It has been a great pleasure to have you as a Guest in our hotel and we are glad to know that your stay was fine and that you appreciated our amenities. e hope and are looking forward have you again stayng in our hotel.

Best regards.

Fabio Cannucci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Gorgeous hotel, very opulent, comfy beds like sleeping on a cloud! Delicious fresh breakfast, nice spacious room and bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. However I think the fact it notes airport transfers as a facility is slightly misleading, it isn't a service offered directly from the hotel but they book you a taxi which costs 70 euros each way, pretty steep for a 30 minute journey but taxi's in the area seem to be very expensive anyway. The restaurant and bar are fabulous too with breathtaking views and stunning sunsets.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneD3, Direttore at Grand Hotel Palazzo – MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Guest,
thanks so much for your nice review. It has been a great pleasure to have you as a Guest in our hotel and we are glad to know that your stay was fine and that you appreciated our amenities. e hope and are looking forward have you again stayng in our hotel.

Best regards.

Fabio Cannucci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

A real palazzo, with Sea views!

Spacious rooms with Nice high ceilings. Besides that, the hotel is a bit dated and Isn’t a real “holiday” hotel... it’s better suited for business trips, in my opinion.. Service was good!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lloyd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneD3, Direttore at Grand Hotel Palazzo – MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,
Desideriamo ringraziarla per gli apprezzamenti espressi a seguito del suo soggiorno presso Grand Hotel Palazzo Livorno - MGallery by Sofitel e per averci rinnovato la fiducia.

E’ con grande piacere che riceviamo i suoi complimenti. Non mancheremo di condividere i suoi commenti con tutta la nostra equipe. La sua soddisfazione è la migliore ricompensa per il nostro personale che lavora giorno dopo giorno per offrire un servizio impeccabile.

In attesa di accoglierla nuovamente, Signora/ Signor le porgiamo cordiali saluti.

Fabio Cannucci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews