We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
126
35
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
35
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chianti region tuscan hills lorenzo villa taxis uffizi
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Just outside of Florence, the beautiful boutique hotel, Marignolle was our home away from home this past week. The hotel was just lovely and the staff was welcoming and very knowledgeable. We were given help and suggestions for experiencing the culture, food and shopping of Florence from an inside view. Our room was elegant and comfortable and we loved breakfast each morning in the gazebo. Lorenzo helped us with a wonderful trip to Chianti for a private wine tasting, educating us about the wines during the drive through the gorgeous countryside. He and Agnes handled all of our dinner reservations and even drive us to our next destination. We loved our stay at Marignolle and definitely would return. David and Cookie

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank br0senblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I want to go back here and take everyone with me - I feel privileged to have stayed in such a beautiful hotel from the minute we arrived in front of the impressive wooden gates and went up the stunning drive bordered with flowers I was amazed. The main house is great to sit and have a drink in the lounge, our room which was the bottom half of a Tuscan farm house was stunning and very roomy for 2 children in twin beds and a master bedroom, all decorated very tastefully in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was one highlight with the gorgeous white tablecloths and crockery in the orangery. The pool was quiet and the views of the hills from here was stunning. Taxis varied from 11 to 16 euros into Florence. The local restaurant which the hotel puts on travel to was another highlight of the visit - magical setting and amazing food. We went here in August 2015 but the travel options does not let me go that far back hence it states Oct 2015

Room Tip: Check prior to getting in the taxis how much they will cost. Do the vinyard tour with Lorenzo its brilliant.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bernadette962015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

This boutique hotel/home is a hilltop private estate that made our stay! This is a family run villa and their focus is totally to enhance our vacation. They were available day and night for any questions or help. Stayed here with a family group for a week, and we took over the entire Villa.

The staff were all excellent. We had a tour of the premises and well in advance of our arrival, all plans were made for wine tours, cooking lesson, holiday celebration at The Rowing Club and our day-trip to Cinque Terra, led by Sylvia – Lorenzo’s sister. And, as someone else noted, there was a one-day taxi strike while we were there and the manager, Lorenzo, shuttled our entire group into Florence and back all day long!

They and the staff are truly hospitality professionals with whatever they did; and were flexible with our changes to plans and to new requests.
Check out the photos – what you see is what you get. If you are looking for contemporary digs, this not the place; it is traditional and well-appointed. Every room was quite comfortable – the living room was perfect for our gatherings. The décor was consistent, the bed was comfortable and the sheets comfy. Each bedroom was large and well equipped – including a coffee/tea and a mini-bar/fridge. There was a hair drier as well. The shower water level/power was perfect.
We met each morning on the gazebo where we could hear the birds sing, or close the sliding doors on a warmer day for the AC. The buffet breakfast was quite nice and I didn’t feel the need to order anything special. Cereals, breads, fresh pastries, fresh fruit, various yogurts, juice, coffee/tea, and immediate service as soon as anyone walked in the room to take the coffee order!

We taxied daily into Florence, which does add a cost – but so worth staying out of the tourist craziness in Florence central. The drivers all know how to maneuver into small roads – so not sure what the other review was concerned with.

As many others have said before us, this is a great place to stay if you want to be within easy reach of Florence but away from the crowds. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Looked like all rooms were well appointed. Just choose size of bed.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbsolutG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Firstly, whomever from Paris wrote the review entitled "Tourist Trap" clearly didn't stay at this property, but somewhere else, so please disregard. This villa, the staff, environment, food, hospitality, and location couldn't be better. You would be hard-pressed to find any better place for your Florentine holiday. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank 336eugener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Lorenzo and his family made our family trip a trip of a lifetime! The villa was clean and well taken care of. Anytime we needed anything someone was always there to take our call or answer our questions. They set up our tours, cars, cooking classes and everything in between. We were there the night of a taxi strike and Lorenzo came out after midnight to pick us up! We can't wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews